FEATUREDHeadline NewsLatestPro NewsTop News of The Day

VOTE: The 2022 Irish-Boxing Awards – The Wayne McCullough Performance of the Year

Irish boxers have gone above and beyond in 2022.

Whether it’s away from home, against the odds, or with unimaginable pressure, boxers from this island have risen to the occasion on numerous occasions.

We recognise FIVE of these showings in the Performance of the Year category, with the nominees looking to follow on from the great Kellie Harrington.

This award is named after Wayne McCullough who sensationally went to Japan in 1995 to dethrone WBC bantam champ Yasuei Yakushiji, becoming the first British or Irish fighter to win a world title fight in the Land of the Rising Sun.

Other categories:
KO of the Year
Debut of the Year
Trainer of the Year

Votes are limited to ONE per IP address.

Gary Cully (v Miguel Vazquez)
People will rush to say Vazquez was past his best but the Mexican was a fighter who most felt had beaten Ohara Davies and Lewis Ritsonup at light welter. It was a huge step-up for Cully who utterly dominated and finished Vazquez in five.

Dennis Hogan (v Wade Ryan)
Thoughts will go to the title win over Sam Eggington but back in March Hogan was faced with the in-form Wade Ryan. Seen as a pick’em fight, with many tipping Ryan and believing Hogan to be over the hill, ‘The Hurricane’ instead dominated over 12 rounds.

Mick Conlan (v Miguel Marriaga)
Not many expected Conlan to return so quickly following his loss to Leigh Wood but the Belfast man was straight back out, dominating Marriaga, leaping over any mental hurdles, and providing the tent pole that allowed big-time boxing to continue in Ireland in 2022.

Anto Cacace (v Michael Magnesi)
The Italian’s team sought the fight, believing they had Cacace’s number. ‘The Apache’ had different plans and, despite a stop-start career, showed that class and talent is permanent to win the IBO title.

Padraig McCrory (v Leon Bunn)
An Irish boxing fairytale. Moving up in weight and going to his opponent’s backyard, Padraig McCrory ripped up the script to dominate and stop Bunn in six rounds, claiming the IBO title in the process.

Cast your votes below:


Voting will stay open for the next two weeks and the winners of each award will be revealed at our first-ever in-person ceremony on Thursday January 26th at the Twenty-Two venue in Dublin city.

Contact Irish-Boxing.com for tickets through any of our social channels or buy direct from HERE

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Irish-Boxing.com (@irishboxingcom)

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on irish-boxing.com, Boxing News, the42.ie, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: joneill6@tcd.ie