AmateurFeaturesHeadline NewsSocial Media

The Patrick Hyland Sr Trainer of the Year – The Awards 2019

Often, a fighter is only as good as the coach they have in the corner.

Thankfully, Irish boxing is blessed with some great teachers and they are recognised here.

We have drawn up a FIVE-man shortlist of Irish or Ireland-based coaches and, as always, the award is named after the late Patrick Hyland Sr.

Voting is limited to ONE VOTE per IP address.

Trainer of the Year

Zaur Antia
The Bray-based technical maestro was in the corner as Kurt Walker, Aoife O’Rourke, Kelly Harrington, Michaela Walsh, Grainne Walsh, Regan Buckley, Michael Nevin, and Amy Broadhurst all won major international medals.

Shane McGuigan
Josh Taylor gave McGuigan his third world champion and second unified titlist while Lawrence Okolie would pick up European honours after switching to the London-based trainer.

Gerard McManus
In what turned out to be his final year as a coach, McManus oversaw Steven Donnelly’s Ultimate Boxxer win, a cruel British title loss for Paddy Gallagher, and a big upset win for Julio Cesar.

Pete Taylor
Now boasting the biggest stable in Ireland, highlights saw Taylor lead Luke Keeler to major wins over Conrad Cummings and Luis Arias, and Tommy McCarthy to an away scalp of Fabio Turchi.

Billy Walsh
The Wexford coach was at the helm as American boxers won a total of 14 Elite medals (2 gold, 4 silver, 7 bronze) across the Women’s World Championships and PanAmerican Games.

[yop_poll id=”8″]

You can vote in the earlier polls below:

The Kevin Sheehy Young Boxer of the Year

The Wayne McCullough Performance of the Year

The Alejandro Gonzalez Jr Opponent of the Year

The Sean Mannion Gallant Defeat of the Year

Pro Debut of the Year


Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: