AmateurHeadline NewsLatestNews

Commonwealth Games Team Named

A 13-strong boxing team to represent Team NI at this summer’s Commonwealth Games in Birmingham has been named.

The squad, made up of five women and eight men, includes Olympic siblings Michaela and Aidan Walsh.

Also selected is former pro Dee Sullivan, who returns to the amateurs after a brief stint in the paid ranks. Louth favourite Amy Broadhurst will also compete and will be a strong medal contender. New to the scene fighters such as Nicole Clyde, Clepson dos Santos, Dylan Eagleson and Jake Tucker have been rewarded for their performances at the most recent Ulster and underage National Championships with selection for International competition.

Carly McNaul will look to win her second medal after being selected ahead of World Championship teammate Caithlin Fryers. Eireann Nugent returns after a sabbatical and goes straight into the team, while Jude Gallagher will look to fill a Kurt Walker sized hole at 57kgs and Eugene McKeever will wear the vest at 67kgs.

JP Hale got the nod ahead of Ulster elite champion Jack McGivern and 2020 Ulster elite champion Daryl Clarke in a very competitive weight division.



Nicole Clyde (48kg, Antrim)

Carly McNaul (50 kg, Ormeau Rd)

Michaela Walsh (57, Emerald)

Amy Broadhurst (60kg, St Bronagh’s)

Eireann Nugent (70kg, Immaculata)


Clepson dos Santos (51kg, Holy Trinity)

Dylan Eagleson (54kg, St Paul’s)

Jude Gallagher (57kg, Two Castles)

JP Hale (63.5kg, Star)

Eugene McKeever (67kg, Holy Family, Drogheda)

Aidan Walsh (71kg, Emerald)

Jake Tucker (75kg, Emerald)

Damien Sullivan (92+kg, Emerald)


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years