AmateurHeadline NewsLatestNews

UPDATED – List of Irish European Youth Medal Winners

Ireland can boast three new European Youth Champions after an honours display by the class of 2024.

Ava Henry, Kyla Doyle and Adam Olaniyan increased the number of Ireland European Youth gold medal winners to 13 in Porec Croatia.

The number of medals minned also increased courtesy of silver medal winner Grace Conway and bronze medalists Ryan Jenkins and Tadgh O’Donnell.

That medal haul brought Ireland’s Euro Youth medal total to 58 .

Irish boxing legend Barry McGuigan, recent world title challenger Jason Quigley and Olympians Michaela Walsh and Cathal O’Grady are all on the list alongside some now well-known names.


1978 Dublin
54kg Michael Holmes Silver
51kg Tommy Thompson Bronze

1980 Italy
57kg Barry McGuigan Bronze
64kg Martin Brereton Bronze

1984 Finland
54kg John Lowey Bronze

1992 Scotland
54kg Frank Slane Bronze
60kg Glen Stevens Bronze

1995 Hungary
91kg Cathal O’Grady Gold

1997 England
71kg Marvin Lee Bronze

2005 Estonia
60kg John Joe Joyce Bronze

2009 Poland
69kg Jason Quigley Gold

2010 France
51kg Katie Rowland Silver
57kg Michaela Walsh Bronze
64kg Sarah Close Bronze
69kg Claire Grace Bronze

2011 Dublin (City West Hotel)
69kg Michael O’Reilly Silver
81kg Gary Sweeney Silver
52kg Joe Fitzpatrick Bronze
75kg Stephen Broadhurst Bronze
91kg Jack Morrissey. Bronze

2013 Netherlands
52kg Gary Cully Gold
56kg Kurt Walker Silver

2014 Croatia
60kg John Joyce Silver

2014 Italy
51kg Kristina O’Hara Silver
60kg Cheyanne O’Neill Silver
57kg Amy Broadhurst Silver
48kg Lauren Hogan Bronze

2015 Poland
69kg Michael Nevin Gold
49kg Stephen McKenna Silver
60kg James McGivern Silver
52kg Willie Donoghue Bronze
75kg John Joyce Bronze

2016 Hungary
57kg Amy Broadhurst Gold
69kg Saoirse Dignam Bronze

2016 Russia
60kg Oliver McCarthy Silver
52kg Terry McEntee Bronze

2017 Turkey
69kg Gabriel Dossen Bronze
75kg Jordan Myers Bronze

2017 Bulgaria
48kg Caitlin Fryers Silver
75kg Lauren Kelly Bronze

2018 Italy
48kg Daina Moorehouse Gold
57kg Dearbhla Rooney Silver
64kg Evelyn Igharo Silver
75kg Lauren Kelly Bronze
52kg Dean Clancy Silver
49kg Jude Gallagher Bronze

2019 Bulgaria
48kg Daina Moorehouse Bronze
54kg Niamh Fay Gold
69kg Leah Gallen Bronze
75kg Lisa O’Rourke Bronze

2022 Bulgaria
48kg: Georgia McGovern, Setanta : Bronze Medallist
48kg: Patsy Joyce, Olympic: Bronze Medallist                          
50kg: Katie O’Keefe, Kanturk : Bronze Medallist                  
63kg: Winnie McDonagh, Neilstown : Bronze Medallist               
70kg: Laura Moran, St Annes: Silver medallist
71kg: Bobbi Flood, Cabra: Team Captain: Gold medallist                              
81kg: Dearbhla Tinnelly, Clann Naofa: Gold medallist      
81+kg: Cliona Darcy, Tobar Pheadair: Gold medallist    

2024 Croatia

52kg Grace Conway Dowling, Tredagh BC, Louth SILVER
63kg Ava Henry, Dublin Docklands BC. GOLD
66kg Kyla Doyle Byrne, Whitechurch BC, Dublin GOLD
63.5kg Ryan Jenkins, Olympic BC, Westmeath BRONZE
71kg Tadhg O’Donnell, Four Kings BC, Wicklow. BRONZE
92+kg Adam Olaniyan, Jobstown BC, Dublin. GOLD


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years