Tommy Murphy elected President of IABA

IABA Press Officer Bernard O’Neill

TOMMY MURPHY was elected President of the Irish Amateur Boxing Association at today’s annual Congress at the Inishowen Gateway Hotel in Buncrana, Co. Donegal.


Murphy, a native of Co. Louth, polled 143 votes. Wexford’s Nicky White, the only challanger,


polled 109 votes in the IABA’s Centenary year.


Murphy was appointed acting IABA President last year after the then President, Dominic O’Rourke,


stood down to take up a position as Director of Boxing.


Sean Canavan, who was acting Vice President, was returned as Vice President unopposed today. Secretary Sean Crowley, Treasurer Larry Morrison and National Registrar Stephen Connolly were also returned unopposed.


The following were elected as members of the IABA (votes in brackets).

Eugene O’Kane, Derry, (185), Gerry Storey, Belfast (155), Joe Hernon, Galway (149), Larry Durand, Waterford (136), Pat Ryan, Laois (142), Martin Power, Dublin (136), Phil Sutcliffe, Dublin (131), Seamie Dowling, Laois (130).


Gerry Storey and Martin Power are two of the longest serving members of the IABA, both having over ten years service each.


The following were unsuccesful in their election bids.


Al Morris, Dublin, Paddy Osborne, Dublin, Dominic Kiernan, Wexford, Bill Stacey, Dublin, Billy O’Connor, Wexford, Paddy Barnes snr, Antrim, Sandy Rice, Antrim, Pa Flynn, Cork.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

20 − nineteen =