AmateurHeadline NewsLatestNewsTHE JSP- Football

SIX Irish boxers compete for European GOLD today

SIX Irish fighters battle for gold in Italy today.

Grace Conway, Niamh Keogh, Ava Henry, Mary McDonagh, Jamie Collins and Tadhg O’Donnell all compete in European Junior Championship finals and all look to upgrade silver for gold.

Tredagh’s Conway is the first Irish fighter through the ropes as she competes in the third fight in Ring A. Conway takes on England for the right to be called 48kg champion of Europe.

Keogh will look to do the same at 52kg just two bouts later in another Ireland versus England battle. Ava Henry will look to add European Junior gold to the European Schools silver she already has in her trophy cabinet when she competes in Bout 7 of the afternoon session. The Co Captian takes on Poland’s 57kg representative.

Kerry’s Mary McDonagh, who won an all-action semi-final on Sunday, vies for gold in bout 10 when she fights the Ukrainian in the 70kg decider.

Driminagh’s Jamie Collins starts Irish interest in the evening session. The 48kg fighter, who has an eventful run to the final, contests for gold against the home fighter.

The Prince of Four Kings BC, Tadhg O’Donnell completes a busy day when he competes in bout 10 of the evening session hoping to beat Poland to claim 66kg gold.

Team Ireland Squad

Male Boxers:

1. 44-46kg Alfie Jordan (Olympic L)

2. 48kg Jamie Collins (Drimnagh)

3. 50kg Calvin Doyle (Olympic L)

4. 52kg Johnny Harty (Portlaoise)

5. 54kg James Kelly (Holy Trinity)

6. 57kg Callum Carrager (Tredagh)

7. 60kg Ryan Jenkins (Olympic L)

8. 63kg Cillian Reilly (Jobstown)

9. 66kg Tadhg O’Donnell (Four Kings)

10. 70kg Charlie Valbergs (Cherry Orchard). Team Captain

11. 75kg Dylan McShane (St Pauls A)

12. 80kg Jack Teggart Weatherall (St Pauls A)

13. 80+kg Adam Olaniyan (Jobstown)

Female Boxers

1. 44-46kg Sophie Curley Gray (Dealgan)

2. 50kg Grace Conway (Tredagh)

3. 52kg Carlagh Peake (Ballyhaunis)

4. 54kg Niamh Keogh (Olympic L)

5. 57kg Siofra Lawless (Liberty)

6. 60kg Ava Henry (Docklands) Team Captain,

7. 63kg Kayleigh Whelan (Avona)

8. 66kg Sarah Murphy (St Brigids L)

9. 70kg Jodie Byrne (St Teresa’s)

10. 75kg Mary McDonagh (Sliabh Luachra)

11. 80kg Shauna Crehan (Dunboyne)

Team Manager

Martin Fennessy


1. Ralph McKay

2. Liam Cunningham

3. Paul O’Toole

4. Linda Morgan


Philip Hollowed


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years