AmateurHeadline NewsLatestNews

ROLL OF HONOUR – Ireland’s European Championship Medal Record

Team Ireland returns to continental action today as the European Championships glove off in Belgrade, Serbia.

The 11-strong team will be looking to add to the 71 medal total and will target breaking the 20 gold mark over the coming weeks.

Last time out in the Women’s European Championships Team Ireland topped the table with seven medals, with Kellie Harrington, Aoife O’Rourke and Amy Broadhurst winning gold.

Ireland first medaled at the tournament in 1939 when Jimmy Ingle, Paddy Dowdall and Charles Evenden all stood on the podium at the National Stadium.

Team Ireland’s most successful tournament prior to Budva in 2022 played out in Russia in 2010 when Paddy Barnes, Tyrone McCullagh, Kenneth Egan, Darren O’Neill and Eric Donovan all medalled.

Katie Taylor is by far Ireland’s most successful continental battler having stood on the top of the podium six times.

Checkout the full list below:


National Stadium Dublin 1939
51kg Jimmy Ingle Gold
57kg Paddy Dowdall Gold
69kg Charles Evenden Bronze

National Stadium Dublin 1947
91kg Gearoid O’Colmain Gold
57kg Peter McGuire Silver

1949 Norway
60kg Maxie McCullough Gold
57kg Dave Connell Bronze

1951 Italy
54kg William Kelly Silver
60kg Dave Connell Bronze
64kg Terry Milligan Bronze

1953 Poland
64kg Terry Milligan Silver
54kg John McNally Bronze

1957 Czech Republic
69kg Fred Tiedt Bronze

1959 Switzerland
51kg Adam McClean Bronze
69kg Harry Perry Bronze
75kg Colm McCoy Bronze

1965 West Germany
60kg Jim McCourt Bronze

1969 Romania
54kg Mick Dowling Bronze

1971 Spain
52kg Neil McLoughlin Bronze
57kg Brendan McCarthy Bronze
54kg Mick Dowling Bronze

1977 East Germany
49kg Phil Sutcliffe Bronze

1979 West Germany
54kg Phil Sutcliffe Bronze

1981 Finland
49kg Gerry Hawkins Bronze

1983 Bulgaria
69kg Kieran Joyce Bronze

1985 Hungary
51kg Sean Casey Bronze

1991 Sweden
57kg Paul Griffin Gold

1993 Turkey
57kg Paul Griffin Bronze

1996 Denmark
51kg Damaen Kelly Bronze

1998 Belarus
75kg Brian Magee Silver

2004 Croatia
75kg Andy Lee Bronze

2005 Norway
60kg Katie Taylor Gold

2006 Poland
60kg Katie Taylor Gold

2007 Denmark
60kg Katie Taylor Gold

2006 Bulgaria
81kg Ken Egan Bronze

2008 England
60kg Ross Hickey Bronze
64kg John Joe Joyce Bronze
75kg Eamonn O’Kane Bronze

2009 Ukraine
60kg Katie Taylor Gold

2010 Russia
49kg Paddy Barnes Gold
57kg Tyrone McCullough Bronze
60kg Eric Donovan Bronze
75kg Darren O’Neill Silver
81kg Ken Egan Bronze

2011 Netherlands
60kg Katie Taylor Gold

2011 Turkey
64kg Ray Moylette Gold
81kg Joe Ward Gold

2013 Belarus
56kg John Joe Nevin Gold
75kg Jason Quigley Gold
49kg Paddy Barnes Silver
52kg Michael Conlan Silver

2014 Romania
60kg Katie Taylor Gold
69kg Claire Grace Bronze

2015 Turkey
56kg Michael Conlan
Gold 81kg Joe Ward Gold
64kg Dean Walsh Bronze

2016 Bulgaria
75kg Christina Desmond Bronze

2017 Ukraine
81kg Joe Ward Gold
52kg Brendan Irvine Bronze
56kg Kurt Walker Bronze

2018 Sofia
57kg Michaela Walsh Bronze
60kg Kellie Harrington Bronze

2019 Belarus
49kg Regan Buckley Bronze
56kg Kurt Walker Gold
75kg Michael Nevin Bronze

2019 Spain
60kg Amy Broadhurst Bronze
75kg Aoife O’Rourke Gold

2022 Armenia
75kg Gabriel Dossen Gold
54kg Dylan Eagleson Silver

Buvda 2022
48kg: Shannon Sweeney Bronze
50kg: Caitlin Fryers Silver
57kg: Michaela Walsh Bronze
60kg: Kellie Harrington Gold
63kg: Amy Broadhurst Gold
70kg: Christina Desmond
75kg: Aoife O’Rourke Gold


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years