AmateurHeadline News

National Under-22 Championships – UPDATED ENTRY LIST

The Irish Athletic Boxing Association (IABA) have revealed an updated entry list for the National Under-22 Championships which begin on Friday.

Since their update last week their have been a number of high-profile entries and withdrawals, with under-18 champions like Jordan Moore and reigning Senior (Intermediate) champions like Thomas McCarthy and Eugene McKeever throwing their names into the hat.

The tournament is part of a big push by the IABA to develop a clearer pathway for boxers from underage the Senior Elite level, rather than putting talented fighters into the Senior Elite Championships before they are ‘ready.’

For men there is the added benefit and incentive of the European Under-22 Championships which take place in Romania in March, and the winners of this month’s championships are likely to be chosen for the Irish squad.

The closing date for entries is tomorrow (Wednesday January 11th)

Male U/22
Jordan Leahy (Urlingford)
Conor Kearney (Holy Family GG)
Darryl Moran (Illies GG)

Mark Corcoran (Corinthians)
Jason McKay (Holy Family GG)
Jordan Moore (Glasnevin)
Thomas McCarthy (Douglas)
Leigh Moran (Illies GG)

Shane Flavin (Paulstown)
Jack Kelly (Cherry Orchard)

Anthony Dinnegan (Mullingar Elite)
Dylan Duffy (Pegasus)
Nathan Fleet (Crumlin)
Martin Sammon (Olympic Galway)
Stephen Lockhart (Baldoyle)
Gary Cully (St Davids Naas)
Stephen Mooney (St Marys Daingean)

James Cahill (St Teresas)
Keith Flavin (Paulstown)
Eugene McKeever (Holy Family Drogheda)
Lee Harris (Darndale)
Thomas Boyd (Thurles)
Caoimhin Ferguson (Gleann)
Mosa Kambule (Lisburn)
Bernaldo Marime (Holy Trinity)
Casey Berry (Bray)
Matthew McCole (Dungloe)
Joseph Kelly (St Canices)
Evan Fitzgerald (Esker)

John Joe Nevin (Mullingar Elite)
Martin Stokes (Darndale)
Daniel Hoolihan (Kilcullen)
Patrick McConigley (Letterkenny)
John Maughan (St Marys Dublin)
Luke Maguire (Esker)

Kelyn Cassidy (Saviours Crystal)
Rhys Moran (St Pauls Waterford)
Martin Collins (Darndale)
Dylan Devine (St Davids Naas)
Sean McGuirke (Whitechurch)
Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles)

Pierce Sherry (Johnstown)
Brian Kennedy (St Marys Daingean)
Wayne Rafferty (St Cianans)
Noel Hegarty (Letterkenny)
Tony Brown (St Michaels Dublin)

Kevin Sheehy (St Francis)
Terry O’Toole (Enniskerry)
Cormac Long (Rathkeale)
Cian O’Shaughnessy (Rathkeale)
Pearse McDonnell (Gleann)
Geoffrey Kavanagh (Glasnevin)

John McDonald (Crumlin)
Thomas Carty (Glasnevin)

Female U/22
Shannon Sweeney (St Annes)

Shauna Blaney (Navan)
Emma Flannery (Baldoyle)

Clodagh McComiskey (Gilford)

Tiegan Russell (Tom Power)
Nicole Moorehouse (Clonard Wexford)
Labhaoise Clarke (Carndonagh)


Ciara Ginty (Geesala)
Cheyanne O’Neill (Athlone)

Grainne Walsh (Sparticus)
Samantha O’Grady (St Marys NR)

Christina Desmond (Fr Horgans)

Nell Fox (Rathkeale)

Maeve McCarron (Carrigart)

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: