AmateurFeaturesHeadline NewsSocial MediaVideos

The Andy Lee KO of the Year – The Smackwear Awards 2018

As we move into the final day of nominations it’s time for the big finishes.

The reason many watch boxing, there have been plenty of vicious KOs this year by Irish fighters in both the amateurs and the pros.

Below we pick out five one-punch spectaculars.

This award has been named in honour of Andy Lee. The former WBO middleweight champ retired this year and was fond of a highlight-reel knockout himself.

KO of the Year

Padraig McCrory (v Manny Bique)

Gerard French (v Francis Mongan)

Jason Quigley (v Daniel Rosario)

Lewis Crocker (v Adam Grabiec)

Frankie Cleary v Julien Balliaird

[yop_poll id=”52″]

You can vote in the earlier polls below:

The Eamonn Magee Jr Prospect of the Year

Moment of the Year

Performance of the Year

Breakthrough of the Year

Club of the Year

The Freddie Gilroy Young Boxer of the Year

The Micky Ward Round of the Year

The Patrick Hyland Sr Trainer of the Year

Comeback of the Year

The Alejandro González Jr Opponent of the Year

The Sean Mannion Gallant Defeat of the Year

Pro Debut of the Year


logo may

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: