National U18 Championships – Day 1 Results

The National U18 Championships kicked off this evening in Dublin.

14 bouts were decided at the National Stadium.

Boxing resumes at 5.30pm tomorrow with Diarmuid Toland and Adam Hession meeting in the pinweight final.

Six further finals will be decided this Sunday with the remaining finals pencilled in for decision for next Friday.

National Men’s U/18 Championships National Stadium Dublin

Friday, May 12th (6pm)
60kg Callum Bradley (Sacred Heart Omagh) beat Ryan Copeland (Erne) 5-0
60kg Sean Whelan (Docklands) beat Matthew McDonagh (Docklands) 5-0
60kg Kenneth Doyle (Monsktown D) beat Tom O’Neill (St Francis) 5-0
60kg Dillon McDonagh (Docklands) beat John Paul Fitzpatrick (Bay City) 3-2
64kg Tom Stokes (All Saints) beat Ian Desmond (Midleton) 5-0
69kg Michael Hennessy (St Monicas) beat Dylan Caldwell (Portlaoise) 5-0
69kg Terence David Ward (Eagle) beat Karin Finnily (Lisburn) 5-0
69kg Gabriel Dossen (Olympic) beat Airijus Vitlipas (St Davids) 5-0

75kg Jack Lawlor (Tramore) beat Evan Cleary (Liberty) 5-0
75kg Jamie Harty (Rathkeale) W/O
75kg Tommy Hyde (Setanta) beat Brian McNamee (Convoy) 5-0
56kg Robbie Gould (Monkstown D) beat Jordan Smith (Holy Family Drogheda) 5-0
56kg Sean Purcell (Enniskerry) beat Jimmy McCarthy (St Michaels Athy) 5-0
56kg Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin) beat David McDonagh (Docklands) 5-0

Saturday, May 13th (5.30pm)
46kg Diarmuid Toland (Lurgan) v Adam Hession (Monivea)

52kg Raymond Collins (Trojan) V Jordan Sheehan (Clonmel)
52kg David O Joyce (Ballymun) V Martin McDonagh (Ballina)
52kg Kane Marshall (Emerald Antrim) V Sean Kavanagh (Monkstown D)
52kg Gavin Flynn (Dungarvan) V Ownie McDonagh (Leeside Lough)
60kg Joe Whelan (St Ibars/Josephs) V Eamer Coughlan (Riverstown)
60kg Nathan Mongan (Cavan) V Cillian Spillane (Trojan)
60kg Callum Bradley (Sacred Heart Omagh) V Sean Whelan (Docklands)
60kg Kenneth Doyle (Monsktown D) V Dillon McDonagh (Docklands)
64kg Michael Avetisian (Glasnevin) V Patrick Donovan (O.L.O.L.)
64kg Sean Dempsey (Sacre Coeur) V Luke Byrne (Grangecon)
64kg Leigh Wilson (Westside) V Michael Kinsella (St Anthony’s/Pats)
64kg Pierce O’Leary (Docklands) V Tom Stokes (All Saints Ballymena)
69kg Jack Conroy (Elite Mullingar) V Jason Harty (Rathkeale)
69kg Cameron Bennett (Bracken) V Paul Ryan (Bay City)
69kg Brian Elliott (Illies GG) V Michael Hennessy (St Monicas)
69kg Terence David Ward (Eagle) V Gabriel Dossen (Olympic)

49kg Sean Kelly (Dunfanaghy) V Terry O’Donohue (St Michaels Athy)
56kg Seamus Mongan (Bay City) V Robbie Gould (Monkstown D)
56kg Sean Purcell (Enniskerry) V Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin)
75kg Jordan Myers (Sligo City) V Jack Lawlor (Tramore)
75kg Jamie Harty (Rathkeale) V Tommy Hyde (Setanta)
81kg Pierre Stokes (Athlone) V Ryan Bolger (Crumlin)
91kg Thomas Cogley (Monivea) V Martin Jim McDonagh (Ennis)
91kg Thomas Gavin (Darndale) V Paul McCullough (St John Bosco U)
91+kg Martin McDonagh (Riverside) V Luke Hill (Crumlin)

Sunday, May 13th
S/Finals (11am)
52kg Winner V Winner
52kg Winner V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
64kg Winner V Winner
64kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner

49kg Liam Glennon (St Josephs Derry) V Winner
56kg Winner V Winner
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Thomas Maughan (Cavan) V Winner
91kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Martin J Mongan (Ennis) V Winner

Friday, May 19th
Finals (5pm)
52kg Winner V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
64kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: