AmateurHeadline News

National Junior Cadet Championships to be decided this weekend

The National Junior Cadet Championships will be decided this weekend, with semi-finals and finals scheduled for Friday and Saturday at the National Stadium in Dublin.

Boxing begins at 6.30pm on Friday. Saturday’s finals begin at 11am.

The IABA are using the tournament to assist with their selection process for the European Schoolboy Championships in Anapa, Russia later this year.

Friday’s weigh-ins at National Stadium – 8am to 9am and 12pm to 1pm.

Saturday’s weight-ins at National Stadium – 8am to 9am.

Note – Any clubs requiring an alternative weight-in time please contact Stephen Connolly, IABA National Registrar, on (087) 154 6746

National Junior Cadet Championships

September 4th

S/Finals (6.30pm)
38.5kg Ciaran Delaney (St Saviours OBA) V Keelyn Roche (St Aidans)
38.5kg Dylan McDonagh (Olympic) V Oisin Treanor (Emyvale)
41.5kg Dean Clancy (Ballinacarrow) V James Connors (Muskerry)
41.5kg David McKeavey (Saints) V Killian Geraghty (Esker)
44.5kg Patrick Myers (St Pats Domhaire) V Tom Cronin (Mayfield)
44.5kg John Donohue (Portlaoise) V Callum Walsh (Riverstown)
50kg Oran Gethins (Manorhamilton) V Brandon Mongan (Olympic)
50kg Mikey Stokes (Athlone) V Michael Stokes (Holy Family Drogheda)
52kg Luke Hurley (Tramore) V Daryl Brennan (Cherry Orchard)
52kg Shane Molloy (Oughterard) V Ryan Ward Mulrine (Convoy)
54kg Sean McGenity (Armagh) V Sean Crowley (Arklow)
54kg Stefan O’Neill (Bantry) V David McDonagh (Sparticus)
56kg Trevor Hegarty (Kanturk) V Patrick McAndrew (Ardagh/Cross)
56kg Jake Tucker (Holy Trinity) V Jason Irwin (Castleblaney)
59kg Barney Corcoran (Carrickmore) V Gavin Rafferty (St Cianans)
59kg Padraic McDonagh (Geesala) V Conor McKernon (Castleblayney)
62kg William Hayden (Crumlin) V Ben Bannon (Hoy Family Drog)
62kg Thomas Connors (Kilcullen) V James Power (Fr Horgans)
65kg Ethan McGuckin (Cookstown) V Peter Keenan (Darndale)
68kg Adam McEvoy (Spartan) V Seamus Maughan (Mount Tallant)
68kg Michael McDonagh (3 Bridges) V Francis Quinn (Cookstown)
76+kg Michael Sweeney (Titans) V Callum Glynn (Cherry Orchard)

September 5th (11am)


31kg Oran McKenna (St Pauls A) V Josh Power (St Nicholas )
33kg Dane Finn (St Nicholas) V Jonathan O’Donnell (3 Bridges)
36kg Joe Joyce (Ballymun) V Jude Gallagher (Two Castles)
38.5kg Winner V Winner
40kg James Conroy (Tobar Pheadair) V Steven Cairns (Fr Horgans)
41.5kg Winner V Winner
43kg Gareth Dowling (Docklands) V Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels)
44.5kg Winner V Winner
46kg Paul Loonam (St Carthages) V Cian Reddy (Portloaise)
48kg David Nevin (Holy Family Drog) V Michael Myers (Crumlin)
50kg Winner V Winner
52kg Winner V Winner
54kg Winner V Winner
56kg Winner V Winner
59kg Winner V Winner
62kg Winner V Winner
65kg Jason Myers (Titans) V Winner
68kg Winner V Winner
72kg Ruairi Brennan (St Annes) V Shane Gillespie (Bundoran)
76kg Michael McDonald (Darndale) W/O
76+kg Oisin Brennan (St Annes) V Winner

August 29th


38.5kg Ciaran Delaney (St Saviours OBA) beat Padraic Folan (Connemara) 3-0
38.5kg Keelyn Roche (St Aidans) beat Kevin Wall (Angels) 3-0
38.5kg Dylan McDonagh (Olympic) beat Kevin Fahy (Oughterard) 3-0
38.5kg Oisin Treanor (Emyvale) beat Nathan Horrigan (N7) 3-0
41.5kg Dean Clancy (Ballinacarrow) beat David Nevin (Mullingar Elite) 3-0
41.5kg James Connors (Muskerry) beat Dean Buckley (St Carthages) 3-0
41.5kg David McKeavey (Saints) beat David Kinsella (St Anthonys/Pats) 2-1
41.5kg Killian Geraghty (Esker) beat Thomas Orr (Lisburn) 2-1
44.5kg Patrick Myers (St Pats Dromhaire) beat Sam Leonard (St Marys Dublin) W/O
44.5kg Tom Cronin (Mayfield) beat Adam Coyne (Docklands) 2-1
44.5kg John Donohue (Portlaoise) beat Jack McGivern (St Georges) W/O
44.5kg Callum Walsh (Riverstown) beat Daniel Duffy (Immaculata) 2-1
52kg Luke Hurley (Tramore) beat Michael Stokes (Dealgan) W/O
52kg Daryl Brennan (Cherry Orchard) beat Aaron Walsh (Bracken) 2-1
52kg Shay Molloy (Oughterard) beat Jonathan Dams (Antrim) 2-1
52kg Ryan Ward Mulrine (Convoy) beat Sean Butler (Riverstown) 3-0


33kg Dane Finn (St Nicholas) beat Karl Miller (Mulhuddart) W/O
33kg Jonathan O’Donnell (3 Bridges) beat Adam Byrne (Mulhuddart) 2-1
36kg Joe Joyce (Ballymun) beat Jack Connors (Cane) 2-1
36kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles) beat Seamus Mongan (Avona) 3-0
40kg James Conroy (Tobar Pheadair) beat Conor Horrigan (N7) W/O
40kg Steven Cairns (Fr Horgans) beat JJ Byrne (Sacred Heart Tol) 3-0
43kg Gareth Dowling (Docklands) beat Nathan Jaynes (Dungarvan) 3-0
43kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels) beat Michael Stokes (All Saints) 3-0
46kg Paul Loonam (St Carthages) beat Declan McDonagh (Ballyhaunis) 3-0
46kg Cian Reddy (Portloaise) beat Cian Byrne (Docklands) 3-0
48kg David Nevin (Holy Family Drog) beat Trevor McCarthy (Mayfield) 2-1
48kg Michael Myers (Crumlin) beat Martin Ward (St Michaels Athy) 3-0

August 28th

Prelims & Q/Finals

36kg Seamus Mongan (Avona) beat Paddy Stokes (Connolly) 3-0
36kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles) beat Bernard Colligan (St Pauls, Antrim) 3-0
38.5kg Oisin Treanor (Emyvale) beat Simon O’Donnell (Cherry Orchard) 3-0
40kg JJ Byrne (Sacred Heart Tol) beat Michael Sweeney (St Pats Dromhaire) 3-0
41.5kg Killian Geraghty (Esker) beat Eoghan Quinn (St Johns Derry) 3-0
41.5kg Thomas Orr (Lisburn) beat Barry O’Connor (Sliabh Luachra) 2-1
44.5kg Callum Walsh (Riverstown) beat Ruairi Killoran (Bishop Kelly) 3-0
44.5kg Daniel Duffy (Immaculata) beat Patrick Stokes (Cookstown) 2-1
46kg Cian Reddy (Portloaise) beatThomas McCann (St Pauls Antrim) 2-1
46kg Cian Byrne (Docklands) beat Padraic McDonagh (Conemara) 2-1
48kg Michael Myers (Crumlin) beat Fiachra Knox (Callan) 3-0
48kg Martin Ward (St Michaels Athy) beat Peter Vrinceanu (Johnstown) 3-0
50kg Brandon Mongan (Olympic) beat Dillon McDonagh (Omagh) 3-0
50kg Miley Stokes (Athlone) beat Mark O’Leary (Holy Family Drogheda) 3-0
50kg Michael Stokes (Holy Family Drog) beat Martin O’Donnell (Cherry Orchard) 3-0
52kg Sean Butler (Riverstown) beat Frank Duffin (All Saints) 3-0
54kg Sean McGenity (Armagh) beat James McStravick (St Annes) 3-0
54kg Sean Crowley (Arklow) beat Matthew Tyndall (Monkstown Dub) 2-1
54kg Stefan O’Neill (Bantry) beat Luke Byrne Doyle (Callan) 3-0
54kg David McDonagh (Sparticus) beat Seamus Doherty (Charlestown) 3-0
59kg Padraic McDonagh (Geesala) beat Emeka Onwuka (All Saints) 3-0
59kg Conor McKernon (Castleblaney) beat Martin O’Donnacha (Dealgan) 3-0
62kg James Power (Fr Horgans) beat Lee Mackin (Dealgan) 3-0


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years