AmateurHeadline NewsNews

National Elite Senior Championships – Semi Final RESULTS

The semis have been completed and the scene is set for the 2020 National Elite Senior Championships.

The semi finals concluded this evening at the National Stadium ahead of Friday’s showpiece event.

Following a number of late withdrawals, just nine bouts were completed tonight and we now have the final line-up set.

Hotshot Daina Moorehouse cruised into the light fly final to face 2018 champ Shannon Sweeney – who herself defeated reigning champ Chloe Fleck.

Ceire Smith and Canadian Sarah Haghighat then both progressed to the fly and bantam deciders respectively before a big stoppage win for Evelyn Igharo.

The big punching Louth light welter will face the returning Ciara Ginty.

Looking to reclaim the heavyweight crown he won in 2018, Kirill Afanasev had a stoppage victory while there was an all-Celtic Eagles super heavy semi between Toto Griffin and Gytis Lisinskas.

Griffin won that clash, a potential fight of the tournament, and meets Kenny Okungbowa in the final after the Athlone big man beat Thomas Carty.

Liffey Crane National Elite Championships, National Stadium Dublin

Wednesday November 20th
S/Finals (7pm)
48kg Shannon Sweeney (St Anne’) beat Chloe Fleck (Lisburn) 5-0
48kg Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry) beat Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) 5-0
51kg Niamh Earley (Ryston) W/O
51kg Ceire Smith (Cavan) beat Nycole Hayes (Togher) 5-0
54kg Sarah Haghighat (St Brigids Edenderry) beat Shauna Blaney (Navan) 5-0
57kg Emma Agnew (Dealgan) W/O
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa) beat Gillian Duffy (St Mary’s Tallaght) RSC1
64kg Ciara Ginty (Geesala) beat Clodagh Greene (Crumlin) 5-0
69kg Grainne Walsh (Spartacus) W/O
81kg Leona Houlihan (Crumlin) W/O
91kg Kirill Afanasev (Smithfield) beat Patrick Corcoran (Olympic Galway) AB2
91kg Daniel O’Brien (Defence Forces) W/O
91+kg Toto Griffin (Celtic Eagles & DF) beat Gytis Lisinskas (Celtic Eagles) 4-1
91+kg Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone) beat Thomas Carty (Crumlin) 4-1

Friday, November 22nd
Finals (5:45pm)
48kg Shannon Sweeney (St Anne’s) V Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry)
49kg Ricky Nesbitt (Holy Family Drogheda) v Sean Mari (Monkstown Dublin)
51kg Niamh Early (Ryston) V Ceire Smith (Cavan)
52kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles) V Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s)
54kg Zara Breslin (Tramore) V Sarah Haghighat (St Brigid’s Edenderry)
57kg Michaela Walsh (Monkstown Antrim) V Emma Agnew (Dealgan)
57kg Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh) V Dean Clancy (Sean McDermott)
60kg Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan) W/O
60kg Barry McReynolds (Holy Trinity Belfast) v Brandon McCarthy (St Michael’s Athy)
63kg Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise) V George Bates (St Mary’s Tallaght)
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa) V Ciara Ginty (Geesala)
69kg Christina Desmond (Fr Horgans) V Grainne Walsh (Spartacus, Offaly)
69kg Aidan Walsh (Monkstown Antrim) V Callum Walsh (Riverstown)
75kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea) W/O
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) V John Joe Nevin (Crumlin)
81kg Nell Fox (Rathkeale) V Leona Houlihan (Crumlin)
81kg Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles) Brennan (Dublin Docklands)
81+kg Naoise Finney (Ballybrack) W/O
91kg Kirill Afanasev (Smithfield) V Danny O’Brien (Defence Forces)
91+kg Toto Griffin (Celtic Eagles) V Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone)


Monday, November 18
Q/Final (7pm)
51kg Niamh Earley (Ryston) beat Caitlin Fryers (Immaculata) 5-0
49kg Sean Mari (Monkstown D) beat Diarmuid Toland (Holy Family GG) 4-1
52kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles) beat Adam Hession (Monivea) 5-0
52kg Regan Buckley (St Theresa’s) beat Jack O’Neill (Corpus Christi) 5-0
57kg Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh) beat Thomas Casey (St Francis) 4-1
57kg Dean Clancy (Sean McDermott) beat Sean Purcell (Enniskerry) 3-2
60kg Barry McReynolds (Holy Trinity) beat Myles Casey (St Francis) 3-2
60kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels Athy) beat Peter Alexandrut (Crumlin) 5-0
63kg Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise) beat Michael Avetisian (Mulhuddart) 3-2
63kg George Bates (St Mary’s Tallaght) beat Gerard Matthews (St Pauls Antrim) 5-0
69kg Aidan Walsh (Monkstown Antrim) beat Ryan O’Rourke (St Michaels Dublin) 5-0
69kg Callum Walsh (Riverstown) beat Eugene McKeever (Holy Family Drogheda) KO2
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) beat Jack Brady (Crumlin) 5-0
75kg John Joe Nevin (Crumlin) beat Fearghus Quinn (Camlough) 4-1
81kg Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles) beat Anthony Browne (St Michaels Dublin) 4-0
81kg Brennan (Dublin Docklands) beat  P McCullagh (St John Bosco Belfast) 4-0

Saturday, November 16
Q/Finals (6pm)
48kg Shannon Sweeney (St Annes) beat Carol Coughlan (Monkstown D) 4-1
48kg Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) beat Courtney Daly (Crumlin) 5-0
57kg Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh) beat Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise) 3-2
57kg Thomas Casey (St Francis) beat Connor Kerr (Monkstown Antrim) 5-0
57kg Sean Purcell (Enniskerry) beat Kane Marshall (Emerald Antrim) 5-0
57kg Dean Clancy (Sean McDermott) beat JP Hale (Star) 5-0
69kg Aidan Walsh (Monkstown Antrim) beat Kieran Molloy (Oughterard) 4-1
69kg Ryan O’Rourke (St Michaels Dublin) beat Michael Kinsella (St Anthonys/Pats) 3-2
69kg Callum Walsh (Riverstown) beat Luke Maguire (Esker) 3-2
69kg Eugene McKeever (Holy Family Drogheda) beat Michael Bustard (Dockers) 5-0
81kg Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles) beat Brian Kennedy (St Marys & DF) 4-1
81kg Anthony Browne (St Michaels Dublin) beat Peter Nosic (Brian Dillons) 5-0
81kg Paul McCullagh (St John Bosco Belfast) beat Tommy Hyde (St Michaels Athy) 4-1
81kg Emmett Brennan (Dublin Docklands) W/O
91+kg Gytis Lisinskas (Celtic Eagles) beat Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) 4-0
91+kg Antoine Griffin (Celtic Eagles & DF) beat Martin Mongan (Corpus Christi) 5-0
91+kg Thomas Carty (Crumlin) beat Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity) 5-0
91+kg Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone) beat Ciaran Griffin (Celtic Eagles) 5-0

Friday, November 15
Prelims (7pm)
57kg Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise) best Colm Murphy (St Georges) 5-0
69kg Aidan Walsh (Monkstown Antrim) beat Terry McEntee (DCU) 4-1
69kg Michael Bustard (Dockers) beat Fergal Redmond (Arklow) 5-0
81kg Brian Kennedy (St Mary’s & DF) beat Michael Frayne (Clonard Wexford) 5-0
81kg Paul McCullagh (St John Bosco Belfast) beat Sean Crowley (Arklow) 4-1
81kg Kane Tucker (Emerald Antrim) beat David Biscevis (St Saviours OBA) 5-0
91+kg Gytis Lisinskas (Celtic Eagles) beat John McDonnell (Crumlin) 5-0

52kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles) beat Sean Kavanagh (Monkstown Dublin) 5-0
60kg Barry McReynolds (Holy Trinity) beat Killian Geraghty (Crumlin) 5-0
63kg Michael Avetisian (Mulhuddart) beat Kenneth Doyle (Monkstown Dublin) 4-1
63kg Gerard Matthews (St Pauls Antrim) beat Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin) 4-1
63kg George Bates (St Mary’s Tallaght) beat Yannick Meseke (Olympic Galway) 5-0
75kg Jack Brady (Crumlin) beat Glory Carlos Lmuala (Maynooth) 4-1
75kg John Joe Nevin (Crumlin) beat Keelyn Cassidy (Saviours Crystal) 3-2
91kg Patrick Corcoran (Olympic Galway) beat Jack Clarke (Crumlin) 4-1


Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: