AmateurHeadline NewsNewsTop News of The Day

National Elite Championship Semi-Final Pairings CONFIRMED

The National Elite Championships returned in style last weekend with prelim and quarterfinal action over two days and three sessions.

Things heat up further this weekend as no fewer than 24 semi-finals are scheduled for the National Stadium.

The IABA today confirmed the semi-final pairings ahead of two more days of potentially exciting action.

September 24

S/Finals (7pm)

48kg Chloe Fleck (Canal) V Shannon Sweeney (St Annes)
48kg Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) V Carol Coughlan (Monkstown D\0
51kg Michael Stokes (St Michaels Athy) V Paddy McShane (Letterkenny)
54kg Niamh Faye (Ballyboughal) V Kirsten Cresham (Castlebar)
54kg Emma Flannery (Baldoyle) V Sara Hagighat-Jo (St Brigids Edenderry)
54kg Jake Rapple (Monkstown D) V Nathan Horrigan (Crumlin)
57kg Jude Gallagher ( Two Castles) V Adam Hession (Monivea)
57kg Sean Purcell (Saviours Crystal) V Jordan Smith (Holy Family Drogheda)
60kg John Paul Hale (Star) V Michael Stephens (Drimnagh)
60kg Dominic Bradley (Emerald A) V Teo Allen (Cookstown)
67kg Michael Avetisian (Mulhuddart) V Eugene McKeever (Holy Family Drogheda)

September 25th

S/Finals (3pm)

57kg Jennifer Lehan (DCU) V Zara Breslin (Tramore)
57kg Kellie McLoughlin (Drimnagh) W/O
63.5kg John O’Connell (Holy Trinity) V Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels Athy)
63.5kg Nathan Richmond (Scorpion) V Jack McGivern (St Georges)
66kg Renee Roache (DCU) V Keisha Attewell (Tobar Pheadair)
66kg Kaci Rock (Enniskerry) W/O
67kg Wayne Kelly (Ballynacargy) V Evan Fitzgerald (Esker)
71kg Emeka Onwuka (All Saints) V Luke Maguire (Esker)
71kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard) V Jack Brady (Crumlin)
80kg Tommy Hyde (St Michaels Athy) V John Joe Nevin (Crumlin)
80kg Stewart Edwards (Crumlin) V Keelan Cassidy (Saviours Crystal)
86kg James Redmond (Ballybrack) V Faolain Rahill (DCU)
86kg Ighosa Igharo (Clann Naofa) V Darren O’Neill (Paulstown)
92kg Marcin Skalski (Athlone) W/O
92kg Cathal Crowley (Spartan M) V Jack Marley (Monkstown D)
92+kg Patrick Rogers (St Johns U) V Thomas Maughan (Cavan
92+kg Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) V Samuel Ilesamni (St Mary’s)

September 18th

Quarter-finals (12pm)

50kg Nicole Clyde (Antrim) beat Nicole Hayes (Togher) 5-0
63.5kg John McConnell (Holy Trinity) W/O
63.5kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels Athy) beat Jamie Long (Muskerry) KO1
63.5kg Nathan Richmond (Scorpion) W/O
63.5kg Jack McGivern (St Georges) W/O
67kg Wayne Kelly (Ballynacargy) beat Eoghan Quinn (St Johns U) 5-0
67kg Evan Fitzgerald (Esker) beat Damien Creaven (Olympic Galway) RSCI3
67kg Michael Avetisian (Mulhuddart) beat Kenneth Doyle (Monkstown D) 5-0
67kg Eugene McKeever (Holy Family) beat Barry O ‘Connor (Northside) 5-0
86kg Darren O’Neill (Paulstown)beat Kane Tucker (Emerald A) 3-2

September 18th


57kg Adam Hession (Monivea) W/O
57kg Sean Purcell (Saviours Crystal) beat Bailey Marshall (Emerald A) 4-1
57kg Jordan Smith (Holy Family) W/O
92+kg Patrick Rogers (St Johns U) beat Jack Divine (Springtown) RSC!
92+kg Thomas Maughan (Cavan) beat Gytis Lisinkas (Celtic Eagles) 5-0
92+kg Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) beat Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone) 5-0
92+kg Samuel Ilesanni (St Mary’s D) beat Phil Brophy (Angels) 4-0

Septemmber 17th SEPTEMBER


48kg Carol Coughlan (Monkstown D) beat Courtney Daly (Crumlin) 5-0
54kg Sara Haghighat-Jo (Edenderry) beat Clodagh McComiskey (Gilford) 5-0
57kg Jake McMahon (Liberty) W/O
57kg Jordan Smith (Holy Family Drogheda) W/O
57kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles) beat Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh) 3-2
60kg Dominic Bradley (Emerald A) W/O
60kg Teo Allen (Cookstown) beat Thomas McCann (St Pauls A) 5-0
80kg Keelan Cassidy (Saviours Crystal) W/O
92+kg Samuel Ilesanni (St Mary’s D) W/O

October 2nd


48kg Winner V Winner
48kg Ricky Nesbitt (Holy Family L) V Caomhin Logue (Springtown)
50kg Caitlin Fryers (Immaculata) V Winner
51kg Paudraic Downey (St John Bosco A) V Winner
52kg Niamh Early (Ryston) V Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry)
54kg Winner V Winner
54kg Brendan Irvine (St Pauls A) V Winner
57kg Winner V Winner
57kg Winner V Winner
60kg Amy Broadhurst (St Bronaghs) W/O
60kg Winner V Winner
63kg Eve Woods (Corinthians) V Gillian Duffy (St Mary’s D)
63.5kg Winner V Winner
66kg Winner V Winner
67kg Winner V Winner
70kg Christina Desmond (Dungarvan) V Winner
71kg Winner V Winner
75kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlrea) W/O
75kg Sean Donaghy (St Canices) V Winner
80kg Winner V Winner
81kg Nell Fox (Rathkeale) V Bethany Doocey (Castlebar)
86kg Winner V Winner
92kg Winner V Winner
92+kg Winner V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
75kg Gabriel Dossen (Olympic Galway) V Daniel O’Sullivan (Lucan)

Jonny Stapleton contributor for 15 years and editor for the past decade. Have been covering boxing for over 16 years and writing about sports for a living for over 20 years. Former Assistant Sports editor for the Gazette News Paper Group and former Tallaght Voice Sports Editor. Have had work published in publications around the world when working as a freelance journalist. Also co-founder of Junior Sports Media and Leinster Rugby PRO of the Year winner. email: