Headline News

Ireland name huge squad for European Schoolboys/girls Championships

The Irish Athletic Boxing Association (IABA) have confirmed the biggest squad of Irish boxers for an international event in their history.

Ireland will send 31 fighters to European Schoolboy and Schoolgirls Championships in Bulgaria which begin next week.

The tournament takes place in Albena, the location of the European Juniors last year, and has at last seen the addition of female competition.

Ireland will send 19 males and 12 females to Bulgaria – just one short of the max allowed (no male 105kg will be sent).

30 of the fighters were champions at last month’s National Junior Cadet Championships along with one runner-up.

There’s is representation from all over the island within the team with 11 Dubs, three from each of Mayo and Kildare, two each from Limerick, Kilkenny, Westmeath, Louth, and Cork, as well as further fighters from Offaly, Armagh, Fermanagh, Tyrone, Tipperary.

Ireland have medalled at all 15 previous tournaments, taking home 89 pieces of silverware in total. Last year’s competition provided the nation’s best haul yet, with 10 medals being plundered.

Numerous top Irish names have medaled at the championships in the past including two-weight world champion Carl Frampton, Olympians Davey Oliver Joyce, Joe Ward, and John Joe Joyce, pro fighters Tommy McCarthy, Lewis Crocker, and Aaron McKenna, and current Senior stars such as Kieran Molloy, George Bates, Michael Nevin, Brett McGinty, and James McGivern.
European Schoolboy & Schoolgirl Championships Albena, Bulgaria May 21-30

Irish squad
36kg Katie O’Keeffe (Kanturk)
38.5kg Martin Collins (Drimnagh)
39kg Sophia Elstone (Ardnaree)
40kg Michael Faulkner (Northside)
41.5kg William Faulkner (Rathkeale)
42kg Nora Jackman (Paulstown)
43kg Jason Nevin (Olympic Mullingar)
44.5kg Conor Donovan (Clonmel)
45kg Robyn Kelly (Ballynacargy)
46kg Cale Brennan (St Michael’s Athy)
48kg Robyn Murran (St Brigid’s Kildare)
48kg Michael Connors (St Mary’s Dublin)
50kg James Donovan (O.L.O.L.)
51kg Labhaoise Glynn (Cloghan)
52kg Brannon Lyttle (Carrickmore)
54kg Yasmin Meredith (Glasnevin)
54kg John Fay (Swords)
56kg James McGuinness (St Monica’s)
57kg Kaci Crowley (Erne)
59kg Thomas McAleer (Swords)
60kg Laura Moran (St Anne’s)
62kg Ryan Murphy (Neilstown)
63kg Winnie Christina McDonagh (Neilstown)
65kg Joe Hutchinson (Neilstown)
67kg Dearbhla Tinnelly (Clann Naofa)
68kg Feidhlim Behan (Kilcullen)
70kg Nasya McJin-Igelige (Clann Naofa)
72kg Tyler Meade (Kilnamanagh)
76kg Curtis Darcy (Callan)
80kg Patrick McDonagh (St Joseph’s)
91kg Martin McDonagh (Ballyhaunis)

IABA President: Dominic O’Rourke
Team Managers: Martin Fennessey and Jennifer O’Sullivan.
Coaches: Liam Brereton, Jim O’Neill, Eva Carr, John Gallagher, Tom Hayes
R&J: Brian Wallace


logo may

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on irish-boxing.com, Boxing News, the42.ie, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: joneill6@tcd.ie