AmateurHeadline News

Dramatic night at Senior Finals

By Bernard O’Neill – IABA Press Officer

LONDON 2012 Olympians Darren O’Neill and Adam Nolan and three-time EU champion David Oliver Joyce added to their collection of Elite crowns at Dublin’s National Stadium tonight.

O’Neill and Joyce made it twelve in total – six apiece – at the expense of Bernard O’Reilly and Sean McComb.

The McComb versus Joyce clash was another big encounter, with Joyce taking a split decision against the defending champion in a repeat of the 2014 decider – which the St Michael’s Athy man also won on a split.

O’Neill, shortly after Michael O’Reilly won, denied the Portlaoise BC a double after decisioning Bernard O’Reilly, a brother and team-mate of Michael, in the heavyweight class.

Nolan beat Martin Stoke to celebrate a high-five in at welter, the Bray BC southpaw earning a unanimous decision.

Defending light-welter champion Dean Walsh withstood some fierce pressure from ex European champion Ray Moylette to split the judges in his favour in a repeat of January’s final which Walsh also won on a split.

Moylette landed some big shots in the first and seconds rounds, but Walsh was also finding the target in the fight of the night.

Stephen McKenna took the vacant light-fly belt versus Regan Buckley on his debut in Ireland’s top flight, and Brendan Irvine, who vacated the light-fly strap to move up to fly won his second Elite crown versus TJ Waite.

Myles Casey had vacated the flyweight title to move up to bantam, but Kurt Walker retained his belt at the expense of the Limerick fighter.

European Games champion Michael O’Reilly took home his three successive middleweight belt after beating Conor Wallace who gave a fine account of himself against the AIBA World No.3.

John Paul Delaney ensured that a third title was heading to Antrim tonight, the Emerald BC ace beating Chris Blaney to secure the vacant 81kg belt.

Gardiner, the defending champion, beat Thomas Carty to retain the super-heavy crown in the final bout of what has been an eventful and very successful 2015 for Irish boxing at home and abroad.

Brendan Irvine was celebrating on the double tonight after also scooping the Best Boxer Award.

National Elite Championships (2) 2015

December 11th

Finals (7.30pm)

49kg Stephen McKenna (Old School) beat Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s) 3-0
52kg Brendan Irvine (St Paul’s Antrim) beat T.J. Waite (Ormeau Road) 3-0
56kg Kurt Walker (Canal) beat Myles Casey (St Francis) 3-0
75kg Michael O’Reilly (Portloaise) beat Conor Wallace (St Monica’s Newry) 3-0
60kg David Oliver Joyce (St Michaels Athy) beat Sean McComb (Holy Trinity) 2-1
64kg Dean Walsh (St Ibars/Josephs) beat Raymond Moylette (St Annes) 2-1
91kg Darren O’Neill (Paulstown) beat Bernard O’Reilly (Portlaoise) 3-0
69kg Adam Nolan (Bray) beat Martin Stokes (Holy Family Drogheda) 3-0
81kg John Paul Delaney (Emerald Antrim) beat Christopher Blaney (Navan) 3-0
91+kg Dean Gardiner (Clonmel) beat Thomas Carty (Glasnevin) 3-0

Best Boxer Award: Brendan Irvine (St Paul’s BC)

December 5th

S/Finals (7pm)

52kg Brendan Irvine (St Pauls Antrim) beat William Donohue (St Michaels Athy) 3-0
56kg Myles Casey (St Francis) beat Jason Kirwan (Ballagh) 3-0
60kg Sean McComb (Holy Trinity) beat George Bates (St Marys Dublin) 2-1
64kg Ray Moylette (St Annes) beat Wayne Kelly (Athlone) 2-1
69kg Martin Stokes (Holy Family Drogheda) beat Caoimhin Hynes (Holy Trinity) 3-0
75kg Michael O’Reilly (Portlaoise) beat John Joyce (St Michaels Athy) 3-0
75kg Conor Wallace (St Monicas Newry) beat Eddie Byrne (Na Fianna) 3-0
81kg John Paul Delaney (Emerald A) beat Sean Allen (Arklow) 3-0
91kg Bernard O’Reilly (Portlaoise) beat Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield) 2-1
91+kg Thomas Carty (Glasnevin) beat Constantin Popivicu (Johnstown) 2-1

December 4th

John Joyce (St Michaels Athy) beat 75kg Fearghus Quinn (Camlough) 2-1


49kg Regan Buckley (St Teresas) beat Darryl Moran (Illies GG) 2-1
52kg TJ Waite (Ormeau Road) beat Jason McKay (St Pauls Antrim) 2-1
56kg Kurt Walker (Canal) beat Colin O’Donovan (Togher) 3-0
60kg David Oliver Joyce (St Michaels Athy) W/O
64kg Dean Walsh (St Josephs/Ibars) beat James Cleary (Olympic) 2-1
69kg Adam Nolan (Bray) beat Michael Bustard (Monkstown Antrim) 3-0
81kg Christopher Blaney (Navan) beat Sean McGlinchey (Oakleaf) 2-1
91kg Darren O’Neill (Paulstown) beat Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity) TKO1
91+kg Dean Gardiner (Clonmel) W/O

December 5th


52kg Brendan Irvine (St Pauls Antrim) V William Donohue (St Michaels Athy)
56kg Jason Kirwan (Ballagh) V Myley Casey (St Francis)
60kg George Bates (St Marys Dublin) V Sean McComb (Holy Trinity)
64kg Wayne Kelly (Athlone) V Ray Moylette (St Annes)
69kg Caoimhin Hynes (Holy Trinity) V Martin Stokes (Holy Family Drogheda)
75kg Michael O’Reilly (Portlaoise) V John Joyce (St Michaels Athy)
75kg Conor Wallace (St Monicas Newry) V Eddie Byrne (Na Fianna)
81kg John Paul Delaney (Emerald A) V Sean Allen (Arklow)
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield) V Bernie O’Reilly (Portlaoise)
91+kg Thomas Carty (Glasnevin) V Constantin Popivicu (Johnstown)

November 28th


52kg Jason McKay (St Pauls Antrim) beat Adam Courtney (St Marys Dublin) TKOI2
75kg Conor Wallace (St Monicas Newry) beat Connor Coyle (St Josephs Derry) 3-0
75kg Eddie Byrne (Na Fianna) beat Glory Lmuala Carlos (Maynooth) 3-0
81kg Sean McGlinchey (Oakleaf) W/O
81kg John Paul Delaney (Emerald Antrim) beat Matthew Tinker (St Francis) 2-1
91kg Darren O’Neill (Paulstown) beat Stephen Lawrence (Holy Family Drogheda) 3-0
91kg Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity) beat Ciaran Griffin (Celtic Eagles) 3-0
91kg Kiril Afansev (Smithfield) beat Christy Joyce (St Michaels Athy) 3-0
91kg Bernie O’Reilly (Portlaoise) beat Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone) 2-1


November 21st

Q/Finals (7pm)

60kg David Oliver Joyce (St Michael’s Athy) beat Gary Cully (St Davids) 2-1
60kg Hughie Joyce (St Michael’s Athy) beat Anthony O’Rawe (Braid) 3-0
60kg George Bates (St Marys) beat Gary McKenna (Old School) 3-0
60kg Sean McComb (Holy Trinity) beat Tiernan Bradley (Sacred Heart) 3-0
64kg Dean Walsh (St Ibars) beat Benaldo Marime (Holy Trinity) 3-0
64kg James Cleary (Olympic) beat Keith Flavin (Paulstown) 2-1
64kg Wayne Kelly (Ballynacargy) beat Gerard Matthews (St Pauls) 3-0
64kg Ray Moylette (St Annes) beat Patrick Lenihan (St Marys) 3-0
69kg Michael Bustard (Monkstown) beat Fergal Redmond (Arklow) TKOI3
69kg Caoimhin Hynes (Holy Trinity) beat Conor Doherty (Holy Trinity) 3-0

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: