Headline NewsPro News

Cut prevents McKenna making it double figures

Tyrone McKenna was denied the chance to go 10-0 in Spain on Saturday night because of a first round clash of heads.

A cut opened up right over the eye of the Belfast welterweight after a coming together of heads and it was so bad the referee had to call a halt to proceedings.

The bout goes down as a no contest and McKenna retains his unbeaten status, but does have to wait before he registers win number 10.

Speaking on Socail Media after his clash with Arvydas Trizno, McKenna said:

“Unfortunately tonight was deemed a no contest after a clash of heads in the first round was handling him easy n hurting him but that’s the way the way things go still undefeated but still 9-0 lol thanks for the support”


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years