AmateurFeaturesHeadline News

Club of the Year – The Smackwear Awards 2018

Boxing clubs are pillars of the community, developers of talent, outlets which can even save lives, with the volunteers who run them being true unsung heroes.

Here we recognise the achievements with the Club of the Year award.

A truly impossible category to quantify, for the purposes of the poll we have shortlisted the 10 clubs with the most amount of Irish titles won in 2018,

Our information comes from the IABA listed results, if there happens to be any errors or omissions please do get in touch and we will amend

Ballyhaunis BC
A club with a particular talent for honing fighters in the higher weights, there were Irish title doubles for Eoghan Lavin and Martin McDonagh along with triumphs for Alannah Nolan and Carlagh Mullarney.


Clann Naofa BA
The Louth ladies had a lot of success with double Irish titles for Nasya McJin Igelige, Dearbhla Tinnelly, and Shauna O’Callaghan along with a triple for European Youth silver medallist Evelyn Igharo.

clann naofa

Crumlin BC
Phil Sutcliffe’s famous Dublin club brought in underage titles through Michael Farrelly, Kurt Doyle, and two from William Hayden before a sensational hat-trick on Intermediate finals night with Courtney Daly, Senan Kelly, and Clodagh Green all claiming top prize.


Drimnagh BC
The home of Olympic gold medallist Michael Carruth saw successes for Kellie McLoughlin, Nathan Feeney, Kai Griffin, Brian Mowlds, Paul O’Brien, Killian Freehill, Bobby Doolin, and Abi Sutton, along with doubles for Martin Collins, Evan Kirwan, Taylor Guiney, and Patryk Adamus.


Geesala BC
The Mayo club had title wins for sisters Ciara and Aoibhe Ginty along with Amy Carey, and Leah McDonald as well as double for Aoibhe Carrabine and Grainne Kilker


Holy Trinity BC
The top Belfast club were busy again as always and Caoimhin Agyarko took home the Senior title while there were further wins for John McConnell, Diarmuid Bradley, Kyle Smith, Jude Molyneaux, and a double for Daniel Owens.


Olympic Galway
The growing club claimed titles through Edward Barrett, Jason Myers, Marcus Barret, Patrick Donovan, and doubles for Michael Maughan, Patrick Sweeney, Paddy Cleary, and Tokyo hope Gabriel Dossen.

olympic galway

Olympic Mullingar
It was a fantastic year for the Westmeath club with Irish title wins for Michael Nugent, David Geoghgan, Alfie Jordan, Ryan Jenkins, Bernie Stokes, Leah McNamee, Bonvie Babongilda, while John Joyce, Jason Nevin, Tadgh Sheridan, and Patsy Joyce all enjoyed double glory.

olympic mullingar

St Anne’s Westport
The Mayo club had Elite champion Shannon Sweeney – who also claimed an U22 crown and the Open title – along with a double for Ownie McDonagh, and further Irish titles for Bernard McDonagh and Laura Moran.


St Michael’s Athy
The prolific Kildare club had winners in Rocky O’Reilly, Edward Carthy, Leesha Jones, Mary Doll Carthy, Ava Fogarthy, Terry Donoghue, and Mickes Donoghue. Cale Brennan took home two Irish titles while there was a fantastic hat-trick for Brandon McCarthy.


[yop_poll id=”47″]

You can vote in the earlier polls below:

The Freddie Gilroy Young Boxer of the Year

The Micky Ward Round of the Year

The Patrick Hyland Sr Trainer of the Year

Comeback of the Year

The Alejandro González Jr Opponent of the Year

The Sean Mannion Gallant Defeat of the Year

Pro Debut of the Year


logo may

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: