AmateurHeadline News

Women’s National Elite draw- Taylor receives bye into the final

The draw for the upcoming Women’s National Elite Senior Championships has been made.

Current Olympic and World champion Katie Taylor received a bye into lightweight final on November 27th.

The AIBA World No.1 awaits the winner of the Clare versus Tipperary Munster derby between Kayleigh Murrihy-McCormack and Shauna O’Keeffe, who clash in the semi-finals on Friday.

Defending flyweight champion Ceire Smith goes go head-to-head with Michaela Walsh in what looks certain to be a cracking 51kg final.

Walsh claimed silver at the Commonwealth Games last year, while Smith stunned current World Elite champion Marlen Esparza (USA) on a split decision in Warsaw, Poland in September.

Please see below attachment for entries. Irish women’s boxing is proudly sponsored by Quick Park of Dublin Airport.


National Elite Championships


November 20th

S/Finals (7.30pm)
48kg Donna Barr (Twin Towns) V Alexandra Kornaga (Carrickmacross)
54kg Elaine Harrison (Ardnaree) V Jade Corcoran (Crumlin)
60kg Kayleigh Murrihy- McCormack (Kilfenora) V Shauna O’Keefe (Clonmel)
64kg Shanice Just (Arklow) V Cheyanne O’Neill (Athlone)
69kg Tina Donnelly (Corinthians) V Grainne Walsh (Sparticus)

November 27th

Finals (7.30pm)
48kg Lauren Hogan (St Brigids Edenderry) V Winner
51kg Michaela Walsh (Holy Family GG) V Ceire Smith (Cavan)
54kg Dervla Duffy (St Brigids Kildare) V Winner
57kg Joanne Lambe (Carrickmacross) V Moira McElligott)
60kg Katie Taylor (Bray) V Winner
64kg Kelly Harrington (Glasnevin) V Winner
69kg Clare Grace (Callan) V Winner
75kg Christina Desmond (Fr Horgans) W/O
81+kg Diana Cambell (Garda) V Maeve McCarron (Carrigart)


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years