FEATUREDHeadline NewsLatestNewsPro NewsTop News of The Day

VOTE: The 2022 Irish-Boxing Awards – The Patrick Hyland Sr Pro Trainer of the Year

The 2022 Irish-Boxing.com Awards are up and running and it is now time to celebrate the brains in the corner.

This award is named after the late, great Paddy Hyland Snr and is currently held by Dee Walsh.

This category is for pro boxing coaches based in Ireland but it should be noted that the Irish amateur boxing system is a medal factory. In 2022 there were 63 major international medals won across the age groups and enormous credit has to go to the likes of Zaur Antia, John Conlan, Eoin Pluck, Dmitry Dmitruk, Mike Mongan, Lynne McEnerny, Liam Cunningham, Liam Corr, Rory McShane, Damian Kennedy, JP Delaney, Ralph McKay, Paul O’Toole, Linda Morgan, Brian Barry, Jeff Fitzgerald, and Amanda Spencer, as well as the countless club coaches up and down the island.

While each and every coach in Ireland deserves huge credit, we have looked at the achievements and progression of their boxers to whittle it down to a TOP FIVE.

Other categories:
Debut of the Year

Votes are limited to ONE per IP address.

Paschal Collins
There was no joy on the biggest stage as Spike O’Sullivan was defeated by Erislandy Lara but Eric Donovan turned in a career-best performance to win an EU title, Craig O’Brien won a Dublin headliner, and the next generation of Celtic Warriors in Cathal Crowley, Thomas Carty, and Daniel O’Sullivan are coming through.

Shaun Kelly
Limerick boxing is booming and Treaty Boxing’s Kelly alongside Gugu Donovan is a major factor. There were big BUI Celtic title wins for Graham McCormack over Dominic Donegan and Jamie Morrissey in Scotland while David Ryan has been converted.

Iain Mahood
Anto Cacace has finally found a home with Mahood in Carrickfergus. The Apache had a career-best win over Michael Magnesi to claim the IBO title and has been joined in the gym by top prospect Willo Hayden.

Pete Taylor
Taylor’s stable continues to rake in big wins. Jazza Dickens picked up in IBO belt while Gary Cully graduated into being a Matchroom star and Sean McComb claimed the WBO European title. Elsewhere, Tyrone McKenna continued to entertain and the rise of Paul Ryan is turning heads.

Dee Walsh
It was another stellar year for Waldo who cornered Padraig McCrory to an IBO crown, Lee Reeves to an NABF title, and picked up BUI Celtic belts with Owen O’Neill and Colm Murphy. A busy gym, Gerard Hughes and Conor Quinn are also rising through the ranks.

Cast your votes below:

Poll Maker

Voting will stay open for the next two weeks and the winners of each award will be revealed at our first-ever in-person ceremony on Thursday January 26th at the Twenty-Two venue in Dublin city.

Contact Irish-Boxing.com for tickets through any of our social channels or buy direct from HERE

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on irish-boxing.com, Boxing News, the42.ie, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: joneill6@tcd.ie