Saturday’s Open Youth Results

Wexford bantamweight Dean Walsh emerged with four points to spare from a top class 56Kg Open Youth Competition three-rounder with Sean Flynn at the National Stadium this afternoon.

It was a good day at the office for Cork, with Dean O’Connell, Peter Keenan and Paddy McCarty chalking up a hat-trick of wins for the Rebel County at IABA HQ.

Three bouts were decided on one-point margins, Benjamin Garrett, Hugh Nevin and John Stokes progressing following see-saw duels with Alan O’Connor, Keane McMahon and Noel Gallagher.

Chris Nevin, Dylan Tang, Daniel Fullerton, Joe Joyce and Stephen Myres also impressed this afternoon, while Dylan Carr recorded an inside the distance win over Patrick Stokes.


Rory Lavery, meantime, chalked up his second victory in 24-hours courtesy of an 11-5 decision over Derek Potter. 

Open Youth Competition

Saturday January 7th – Preliminaries (6pm)


49Kg: Adan Courtney (St Marys) beat Owen Hynes/Aryjrko (Holy Family) 14-4


49Kg: TJ Waite (Cairn Lodge) beat Samuel Gavin (Bay City) 11-5


49Kg: Jack Robinson (Wexford CBS) beat Jamie Higgins (St Davids) 14-10


49Kg: Keith Flavin (Paulstown) beat Ricky Nesbitt (Dealgan) RSC1


69Kg: Martin Stokes (Convoy) beat Johnny Harty (Rathkeale) 6-5


69Kg: Declan McKernon (Braid) beat Michael Stokes (Glasnevin) 8-5


69Kg: Patrick McDonagh (Sunnyside) beat Michael Ahern (Trojan) RSC2


69Kg: Robert McGreevey (Sacred Heart) beat Chris Mulligan (Clann Naofa) 13-4


69Kg: Noel Murphy (Macroom) beat Brian Power (St Saviours) KO2


75Kg: Wayne Danagher (Ennis) beat Owen Bermingham (Glasnevin) RSC3


75Kg: Geoffrey Kavanagh (Corinthians) beat Martin Nevin (Sparticus) 19-4


75Kg: Conor Doherty (Holy Trinity) beat Chris Joyce (O’Hanlom Park) RSC2


75Kg: Patrick Ward (Gurteen) beat Dean Donovan (St Lukes) RSC3


75Kg: Tony Brown (St Catherines) beat Tom Kearney (Townland) 20-7


75Kg: Ryan Dervan (Loughreagh) beat Ridwan Osomoko (Bay City) 24-3


81Kg: Thomas Carthy (Corinthians) beat Patrick McDonagh (Dealgan) 33-24


91Kg: Bernard O’Reilly (Portlaoise) beat John McDonnell (Crumlin) 9-5


91Kg: Stephen Stokes (Twintowns) beat Drestas Vitlipass (St Davids) 19-4


Saturday January 7th – Preliminaries (1pm)


56Kg: Dean O’Connell (Mayfield) beat Daniel Fitzsimons (Clan Naofa) 21-9


56Kg: Chris Nevin (Holy Family) beat Kevin Moran (Ballyhaunis) RSC1


56Kg: Dean Walsh (St Ibars/St Josephs) beat Sean Flynn (Smithboro) 16-12


56Kg: Dylan Tang (Mulhuddart) beat Anthony O’Rawe (Braid) 15-13


56Kg: Sean Higginson (St Agnes) W/O


56Kg: Ian Byrne (Neilstown) W/O


56Kg: Daniel Fullerton (Keady) beat James O’Reilly (Slievenamon) 13-7


56Kg: Benjamin Garrett (Castlebar) beat Alan O’Connor (Palmerstown) 9-8


60Kg: Joe Joyce (St Michaels Athy) beat William Harty (Rathkeale) 14-8


60kg: Hugh Nevin (Cavan) beat Keane McMahon (Dublin Docklands) 9-8


60Kg: Peter Keenan (Loughmahon) beat Cillian O’Donnell (Swinford) 18-7


60Kg: Stephen Myres (Sparticus) beat Patrick O’Reilly (Slievenamon) 15-8


60Kg: Paddy McCarthy (Brian Dillons) beat Brendan Sheppard (Swords) 14-5


60Kg: John Stokes (Mulhuddart) beat Noel Gallagher (Bishop Kelly) 13-12


60Kg: Dylan Carr (Ryston) beat Patrick Stokes (Ballinasloe) RSC2


60Kg: Rory Lavery (St John Bosco) beat Derek Potter (Cairn Lodge) 11-5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one + eleven =