AmateurHeadline NewsNews

Full National Elite Championships draw

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is liffey-crane-hire-1.jpg

The draw is in.

Earlier this week the IABA confirmed the full list of entrants ahead of a very important National Elite Championships.

This afternoon the draw took place and fight fans have been assured of five nights of quality action.

The tournament will now glove off on Friday November 15th with the prelims playing out.

The quarterfinals will take place on the Saturday and Sunday, with the first batch of semi finals taking place on Monday November 18th.

The finals line ups will be confirmed when the second set of semi’s are completed on November 20th – and the biggest domestic night of the boxing calendar takes place at the National Stadium on Friday November 22nd.

The IABA is running the Elite Championships for a second time this year ahead of the European qualifiers for Tokyo 2020 at the Copper Box Arena in London next March.

There will be one final World qualifier for the 32nd Olympiad in Paris next May.

The National Elite Championships are proudly sponsored by Liffey Crane Hire.

Liffey Crane National Elite Championships 

Friday, November 15 (7pm)


57kg Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise) V Colm Murphy (St Georges)
69kg Terry McEntee (DCU) V Aidan Walsh (Monkstown Antrim)
69kg Fergal Redmond (Arklow) V Michael Bustard (Dockers)
81kg Brian Kennedy (St Marys Daingean) V Michael Frane (Clonard Wexford)
81kg Sean Crowley (Arklow) V Paul McCullough (St John Bosco Belfast)
81kg Kane Tucker (Emerald Antrim) V David Biscevis (St Saviours OBA)
91+kg Gytis Lisinskas (Celtic Eagles) V John McDonnell (Crumlin)


52kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles) V Sean Kavanagh (Monkstown Dublin)
60kg Killian Geraghty (Crumlin) V Barry McReynolds (Holy Trinity)
63kg Kenneth Doyle (Monkstown Dublin) V Michael Avetisian (Mulhuddart)
63kg Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin) V Gerard Matthews (St Pauls Antrim)
63kg Yannick Meseke (Olympic Galway) V George Bates (St Mary’s Tallaght)
75kg Glory Carlos Lmuala (Maynooth) V Jack Brady (Crumlin)
75kg Keelyn Cassidy (Saviours Crystal) V John Joe Nevin (Crumlin)
91kg Jack Clarke (Crumlin) V Patrick Corcoran (Olympic Galway)

Saturday, November 16

Q/Finals (6pm)

48kg Caitlin Fryers (Immaculata) V Niamh Early (Ryston)
48kg Carol Coughlan (Monkstown D) V Shannon Sweeney (St Annes)
48kg Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) V Courtney Daly (Crumlin)
57kg Patrick Adamus (Drimnagh) V Winner
57kg Thomas Casey (St Francis) V Connor Kerr (Monkstown Antrim)
57kg Kane Marshall (Emerald Antrim) V Sean Purcell (Enniskerry)
57kg JP Hale (Star) V Dean Clancy (Sean McDermott)
69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard) V Winner
69kg Michael Kinsella (St Anthonys/Pats) V Ryan O’Rourke (St Michaels Dublin)
69kg Callum Walsh (Riverstown) V Luke Maguire (Esker)
69kg Winner V Eugene McKeever (Holy Family Drogheda)
81kg Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles) V Winner
81kg Peter Nosic (Brian Dillons) V Anthony Browne (St Michaels Dublin)
81kg Tommy Hyde (St Michaels Athy) V Winner
81kg Winner V Emmett Brennan (Dublin Docklands)
91+kg Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) V Winner
91+kg Antoine Griffin (Celtic Eagles) V Martin Mongan (Corpus Christi)
91+kg Thomas Carthy (Crumlin) V Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity)
91+kg Ciaran Griffin (Celtic Eagles) V Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone)

Monday, November 18

S/finals (7pm)

49kg Sean Mari (Monkstown D) V Diarmuid Toland (Holy Family GG)
52kg Adam Hession (Monivea) V Winner
52kg Jack O’Neill (Corpus Christi) V Regan Buckley (St Theresa’s)
57kg Winner V Winner
57kg Winner V Winner
60kg Myles Casey (St Francis) V Winner
60kg Peter Alexandrut (Crumlin) V Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels Athy)
63kg Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise) V Winner
63kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) V Winner
75kg Winner V Fearghus Quinn (Camlough)
81kg Winner V Winner
81kg Winner V Winner

Wednesday, November 20

S/Finals (7pm)

48kg Chloe Fleck (Lisburn) V Winner
48kg Winner V Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry)
51kg Carly McNaul (Holy Family GG) V Winner
51kg Nycole Hayes (Togher) V Ceire Smith (Cavan)
54kg Shauna Blaney (Navan) V Sarah Haghighat (St Brigids Edenderry)
57kg Emma Agnew (Dealgan) V Dearbhla Rooney (Sean McDermott)
64kg Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa) V Gillian Duffy (St Marys Tallaght)
64kg Clodagh Greene (Crumlin) V Ciara Ginty (Geesala)
69kg Cheyanne O’Neill (Athlone) V Grainne Walsh (Spartacus)
81kg Lisa Browne (Aglish) V Leona Houlihan (Crumlin)
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield) V Winner
91kg Martin Mongans (Rathkeale) V Daniel O’Brien (Defence Forces)
91+kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Winner V WinnerFriday

November 22

Finals (5.45pm)

48kg Winner V Winner
49kg Winner V Winner
51kg Winner V Winner
52kg Zara Breslin (Tramore) V Winner
54kg Winner V Winner
57kg Michaela Walsh (Monkstown A) V Winner
57kg Winner V Winner
60kg Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan) W/O
60kg Winner V Winner
64kg Winner V Winner
64kg Winner V Winner
69kg Christina Desmond (Fr Horgans) V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea) W/O
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Nell Fox (Rathkeale) V Winner
81kg Winner V Winner
81+kg Naoise Finney (Ballybrack) W/O
91kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Winner V Winner


Jonny Stapleton contributor for 15 years and editor for the past decade. Have been covering boxing for over 16 years and writing about sports for a living for over 20 years. Former Assistant Sports editor for the Gazette News Paper Group and former Tallaght Voice Sports Editor. Have had work published in publications around the world when working as a freelance journalist. Also co-founder of Junior Sports Media and Leinster Rugby PRO of the Year winner. email: