AmateurHeadline NewsNews

National Elite Championships entrants confirmed – over 100 boxers to compete

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is liffey-crane-hire-1.jpg

The IABA have confirmed the full list of entrants for the eagerly anticipated National Elite tournament and it makes for interesting reading.

The tournament, contingent on the draw and entries, begins this weekend or next Monday at the National Stadium.

Dates will be confirmed after Wednesday’s (November 13) draw at 12 noon.

The IABA is running the Elite Championships for a second time this year ahead of the European qualifiers for Tokyo 2020 at the Copper Box Arena in London next March.

There will be one final World qualifier for the 32nd Olympiad in Paris next May.

The National Elite Championships are proudly sponsored by Liffey Crane Hire.

Liffey Crane Hire National Elite Championships 2019


49kg – Light-flyweight

Diarmuid Toland (Holy Family GG)
Sean Mari (Monkstown, Dublin)
Ricky Nesbitt (Holy Family, Drogheda)

52kg – Flyweight

Adam Hession (Monivea)
Brendan Irvine (St Pauls, Antrim)
Jack O’Neill (Corpus Christi
Jude Gallagher (Two Castles)
Regan Buckley (St Theresa’s)
Sean Kavanagh (Monkstown, Dublin)

57kg – Featherweight

Kane Marshall (Emerald, Antrim)
Kurt Walker (Canal)
David Oliver Joyce (Ballymun)
Sean Purcell (Enniskerry)
Christian Ceskiso (Portlaoise)
JP Hale (Star)
Colm Murphy (St Georges)
Thomas Casey (St Francis)
Conor Kerr (Monkstown, Antrim)
Dean Clancy (Sean McDermott)

60kg – Lightweight

Cian Reddy (Portlaoise)
Paul Alexandrut (Crumlin)
Myles Casey (St Francis)
Barry McReynolds (Holy Trinity)
Brandon McCarthy (St Michael’s Athy)
Killian Geraghty (Crumlin)

63kg – Light Welterweight

Caoimhin Ferguson (Emerald, Antrim)
Ger Matthews (St Paul’s, Antrim)
Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise)
Yannik Maseke (Olympic, Galway)
Michael Avetisian (Mulhuddart)
James McGivern (St George’s)
Ken Doyle (Monkstown, Dublin)
George Bates (St Mary’s)
Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin)

69kg – Welterweight

Michael Bustard (Dockers)
Luke Maguire (Esker)
Michael Kinsella (St Anthonys/St Pats)
Aidan Walsh (Monkstown, Antrim)
Ryan O’Rourke (St Michaels, Dublin)
Kieran Molloy (Oughterard)
Callum Walsh (Riverstown)
Eugene McKeever (Holy Family, Drogheda)
Fergal Redmond (Arklow)
Terry McEntee (DCU)

75kg – Middleweight

Kelyn Cassidy (Saviours/Crystal)
Fearghus Quinn (Camlough)
Michael Nevin (Portlaoise)
Gabriel Dossen (Olympic, Galway)
Jason Harty (Rathkeale)
Glory Carlos Lmuala (Maynooth)
Jack Brady (Crumlin)
John Joe Nevin (Crumlin)

81kg – Light heavyweight

Michael Frayne (Clonard)
Peter Nosic (Brian Dillon’s)
Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles)
Kane Tucker (Emerald, Antrim)
Patrick Corcoran (Olympic, Galway)
Brian Kennedy (St Marys, Daingean)
Emmet Brennan (Dublin Docklands)
Paul McCullagh (St John Bosco)
Tony Browne (St Michael’s Dublin)
Tommy Hyde (St Michael’s Athy)
Sean Crowley (Arklow)
David Bicevas (St Saviours OBA)

91kg – Heavyweight

Danny O’Brien (Defence Forces)
Martin Mongans (Rathkeale)
James Clarke (Crumlin)
Kirill Afanasev (Smithfield)

91kg+ – Super Heavyweight

Ciaran Griffin (Celtic Eagles)
Antoine Griffin (Celtic Eagles)
Gytis Lisinskas (Celtic Eagles)
Martin Keenan (Rathkeale)
Dean Gardiner (Clonmel)
Ken Okungbowa (Athlone)
Martin Mongan (Corpus Christi)
Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity)
Thomas Carthy (Crumlin)
John McDonnell (Crumlin)


48KG – Light Flyweight

Chloe Fleck (Lisburn)
Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry)
Shannon Sweeney (St Anne’s)
Carol Coughlan (Monkstown, Dublin)
Courtney Daly (Crumlin)
Ciara Walsh (Smithfield)

51kg – Flyweight

Céire Smith (Cavan)
Niamh Early (Ryston)
Caitlin Fryers (Immaculata)
Nycole Hayes (Togher)
Carly McNaul (Holy Family GG)

54kg – Bantamweight

Sarah Haghighat (St Brigid’s, Edenderry)
Zara Breslin (Tramore)
Shauna Blaney (Navan)

57kg – Featherweight

Emma Agnew (Dealgan)
Michaela Walsh (Monkstown, Antrim)
Kelsey Leonard (Curragh)

60kg – Lightweight

Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan)
Kelly Harrington (St Mary’s)

64kg – Light-welterweight

Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa)
Ciara Ginty (Geesala)
Gillian Duffy (St Mary’s)
Clodagh Green (Crumlin)

69kg – Welterweight

Grainne Walsh (Spartacus)
Cheyanne O’Neill (Athlone)
Christina Desmond (Fr Horgan’s)

75kg – Middleweight

Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea)

81kg – Light Heavyweight

Lisa Brown (Aglish)
Nell Fox (Rathkeale)
Naoise Finney (Ballybrack)
Leona Houlihan (Crumlin)

80kg+ – Heavyweight

No Entry


Jonny Stapleton contributor for 15 years and editor for the past decade. Have been covering boxing for over 16 years and writing about sports for a living for over 20 years. Former Assistant Sports editor for the Gazette News Paper Group and former Tallaght Voice Sports Editor. Have had work published in publications around the world when working as a freelance journalist. Also co-founder of Junior Sports Media and Leinster Rugby PRO of the Year winner. email: