MEDAL ALERT – Amazing Ava Henry becomes a two-time European medal winner

Amazing Ava Henry is now a two-time European medal winner.

The four-time Irish champion who won silver at the European Schools Championships in Triblai in 2019, stepped back onto the continental podium in Italy today.

The Dublin Docklands prospect secured bronze at the very least with an impressive victory in Montesilvano.

The Co- Captain, who defeated the gold medal favourite in her opening bout, got the better Turkey’s Sena Zeynep in their lightweight quarter-final.

The Dub was too good for her opponent and won every round on all five judges’ scorecards.

Henry’s win brought Ireland’s medal total to four so far. She joins Grace Conway, Niamh Keogh and Mary McDonagh in the medals and in the weekend’s semi finals.

57kg representative Siofria Lawless and 80kg Shauna Crehan couldn’t ensure an unbeaten afternoon session for Ireland losing out at the quarter-final stage to Viktorie Jilkova of the Czech Republic and Poland’s Kornelia Amelia Kostrzewa.

Henry’s fellow Captain Valbergs was another to fall at the quarter-final stage losing to Hungary’s Krisztian Nileborg in the first bout of the evening session.

Sophie Curley GraySarah Murphy and Jodie Byrne will all fight for medals later this evening.

Team Ireland Squad:

Male Boxers:

1. 44-46kg Alfie Jordan (Olympic L)

2. 48kg Jamie Collins (Drimnagh)

3. 50kg Calvin Doyle (Olympic L)

4. 52kg Johnny Harty (Portlaoise)

5. 54kg James Kelly (Holy Trinity)

6. 57kg Callum Carrager (Tredagh)

7. 60kg Ryan Jenkins (Olympic L)

8. 63kg Cillian Reilly (Jobstown)

9. 66kg Tadhg O’Donnell (Four Kings)

10. 70kg Charlie Valbergs (Cherry Orchard). Team Captain

11. 75kg Dylan McShane (St Pauls A)

12. 80kg Jack Teggart Weatherall (St Pauls A)

13. 80+kg Adam Olaniyan (Jobstown)

Female Boxers

1. 44-46kg Sophie Curley Gray (Dealgan)

2. 50kg Grace Conway (Tredagh)

3. 52kg Carlagh Peake (Ballyhaunis)

4. 54kg Niamh Keogh (Olympic L)

5. 57kg Siofra Lawless (Liberty)

6. 60kg Ava Henry (Docklands) Team Captain,

7. 63kg Kayleigh Whelan (Avona)

8. 66kg Sarah Murphy (St Brigids L)

9. 70kg Jodie Byrne (St Teresa’s)

10. 75kg Mary McDonagh (Sliabh Luachra)

11. 80kg Shauna Crehan (Dunboyne)

Team Manager

Martin Fennessy


1. Ralph McKay

2. Liam Cunningham

3. Paul O’Toole

4. Linda Morgan


Philip Hollowed


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years