AmateurHeadline NewsLatestNews

Lawless, Henry, Jordan and Whelan all progress to next round of European Junior Championships

Four more Irish fighters progressed into the next round of the European Junior Championships in Italy today.

Team Ireland secured four wins on day one as John Harty, Tadhg O’Donnell, Anthony James Kelly and Adam Olaniyan all registered wins, following suit on Day 2 of the prestigious tournament were Siofra Lawless, Ava Henry, Alfie Jordan and Kayleigh Whelan.

Carlagh Peake and Jack Teggart Weatherall were also in action but lost Scotland and Germany respectively.

Peake opened proceedings against Niamh Lorna Mitchell of Scotland. The Ballyhaunis BC fighter’s interest in the tournament ended following a 5-0 decision in favour of the Scottish boxer. Judges scored the bout: 28:29, 28:29 27:30, 28:29, 27:30.

Featherweight Lawless got Ireland’s first win of the day as she progressed past Germany’s Mia Penelope Grochau thanks to a – 30:27, 30:26, 30:27, 30:27, 30:27 unanimous win.

Team captain Ava Henry boxed Katrin Ivanovova of the Czech Republic in the lightweight division and progresses following a 3-2 split decision win. The bout was scored 28:29, 29:28, 28:29, 27:30, 29:28.

Later in the day Jordan (44-46kg) made it three wins from four, as Ireland once defeated a German representative. The Olympic fighter was so impressive he whitewashed his Emal Hamdan and secured a 10-8 along the way to a 30:26, 30:26, 30:26, 30:26, 30:26 win.

Germany managed to get one back as their 80kg representative, Dofian Bizzit defeated Weatherall– 30:27, 30:27, 29:28, 30:27, 30:27.

Light welterweight Whelan then rounded off another successful day for Irish boxing when she outboxed Hungary’s Victoria Kat Muncz. The Avona figher is through to the next round following a 3-2 split decision win, 29:28, 27:30, 29:28, 28:29, 29:28.

75kg Mary McDonagh is already assured of at least a bronze medal – she begins her competition at the semi-final stage.

Team Ireland Squad
Male Boxers:

  1. 44-46kg Alfie Jordan (Olympic L)
  2. 48kg Jamie Collins (Drimnagh)
  3. 50kg Calvin Doyle (Olympic L)
  4. 52kg Johnny Harty (Portlaoise)
  5. 54kg James Kelly (Holy Trinity)
  6. 57kg Callum Carrager (Tredagh)
  7. 60kg Ryan Jenkins (Olympic L)
  8. 63kg Cillian Reilly (Jobstown)
  9. 66kg Tadhg O’Donnell (Four Kings)
  10. 70kg Charlie Valbergs (Cherry Orchard). Team Captain
  11. 75kg Dylan McShane (St Pauls A)
  12. 80kg Jack Teggart Weatherall (St Pauls A)
  13. 80+kg Adam Olaniyan (Jobstown)

Female Boxers

  1. 44-46kg Sophie Curley Gray (Dealgan)
  2. 50kg Grace Conway (Tredagh)
  3. 52kg Carlagh Peake (Ballyhaunis)
  4. 54kg Niamh Keogh (Olympic L)
  5. 57kg Siofra Lawless (Liberty)
  6. 60kg Ava Henry (Docklands) Team Captain,
  7. 63kg Kayleigh Whelan (Avona)
  8. 66kg Sarah Murphy (St Brigids L)
  9. 70kg Jodie Byrne (St Teresa’s)
  10. 75kg Mary McDonagh (Sliabh Luachra)
  11. 80kg Shauna Crehan (Dunboyne)

Team Manager

Martin Fennessy


  1. Ralph McKay
  2. Liam Cunningham
  3. Paul O’Toole
  4. Linda Morgan


Philip Hollowed


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years