AmateurHeadline News

last weekends National Elite Championship results

London 2012 Olympian Adam Nolan advanced to within two wins of retaining his welterweight title at the National Elite Championships at the National Stadium in Dublin tonight.

The Wexford-born Bray BC southpaw beat Brian Brosnan on a unanimous decision at the South Circular Road venue.

The St Francis BC in Limerick experienced mixed fortunes, while the Clonmel BC celebrated a super heavy double.

Derek Duhig and Krys Sikora advanced for St Francis – Phil Maloney bowed out earlier to Fergal Redmond – and multiple Elite champion Con Sheehan and Dean Gardiner progress for the Clonmel BC, Gardiner courtesy of a first round KO of Dennis Boriskins.

Gary Sweeney, a silver medallist at the IABA hosted 2011 European Youth Championships in Dublin, stopped Ken Okungbowa in the second to edge to within two victories of claiming the vacant heavyweight crown.

Michael O’Reilly, who secured European Youth silver on the same day as Sweeney in Dublin in 2011, beat Emmet Brennan tonight.

Earlier today, former European champion Ray Moylette and ex EU champion David Oliver Joyce progressed to the semi-finals of the National Elite Championships at Dublin’s National Stadium today.

Moylette showed his class in a fiery encounter with the durable Sean Montgomery and David Oliver Joyce was involved in a tough three-rounder with 2011 European Youth bronze medallist Joe Fitzpatrick.

Earlier today, defending lightweight champion Sean McComb bounced back from dropping the first round to Declan Geraghty to earn a unanimous decision.

Dean Walsh beat Ciaran Bates in one of the bouts of the day, and Rohan Date edged out Noel Murphy on a split decision in an all Munster 64kg three-rounder.

The semi-finals will be decided next Friday and Saturday. Boxing begins at 7pm on both nights. The men’s and women’s semi-finals from 49kg to 64kg and 48kg to 64kg will be decided on Friday night.
All male and female semi-finals from 69kg up will be decided on Saturday evening.

2014 National Elite Championships National Stadium Dublin

February 22nd (2pm)

Quarter Finals

52KG: Adam Courtney (St Marys Dub) beat Darren Campbell (Glin) 2-1

56KG: Barry Walsh (St Colmans) beat Gary McKenna (Old School) 2-1

56KG: Kurt Walker (Canal) beat Carl McDonald (Golden Cobra) 3-0

60KG: Sean McComb (Holy Trinity) beat Declan Geraghty (Crumlin) 3-0

60KG: Keith Flavin (Paulstown) beat Danny Coughlan (St Annes) 3-0

60KG: George Bates (St Marys Dublin) beat Kevin Fennessy (Clonmel) 3-0

60KG: David Oliver Joyce (St Michaels Athy) beat Joe Fitzpatrick (Immaculata) 3-0

64KG: Ray Moylette (St Annes) beat Sean Mongomery (Canal) 3-0

64KG: Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) beat Sean Duffy (Holy Trinity) 2-1

64KG: Dean Walsh (St Ibars/St Josephs) beat Ciaran Bates (St Marys) 3-0

64KG: Rohan Date (St Pauls) beat Noel Murphy (Macroom) 2-1

February 22nd 7:00pm

Quarter Finals

69KG: Adam Nolan (Bray) beat Brian Brosnan (Olympic) 3-0

69KG: Fergal Redmond (Arklow) beat Phil Maloney (St Francis) 3-0

69KG: Stephen G Donnelly (All Saints) beat Craig McCarthy (St Pauls Waterford) 3-0

69KG: John Joe Joyce (St Michaels Athy) beat David Roche (Riverstown) W/O

75KG: Derek Duhig (St Francis) beat Conor Coyle (St Josephs Derry) W/O

75KG: Christy Joyce (St Michaels Athy) beat Tony Brown (Cabra) 3-0

75KG: Michael O’Reilly (Portlaoise) beat Emmet Brennan (Corinthians) 3-0

91KG: Gary Sweeney (Olympic) beat Kenneth Okungbowa (Moate) TKO2

91KG: Bernard O’Reilly (Portlaoise) beat John Joe McDonagh (Crumlin) 2-1

91KG: Stephen Ward (Monkstown Antrim) beat Patrick O’Shea (St Colmans) 2-1

91KG: Krys Sikora (St Francis) beat Christy Joyce (St Michaels Ath) 2-1

91+KG: Con Sheehan (Clonmel) beat Jason Barron (Holy Trinity) 3-0

91+KG: Niall Kennedy (Gorey) beat Mark Clarke (St Marys Dublin) TKO1

91+KG: Joe Joyce (Moate) beat Kostas Popovicu (Johnstown) 3-0

91+KG: Dean Gardiner (Clonmel) beat Dennis Boriskins (St Brigids U) KO1

Prelims February 21st
60kg Declan Geraghty (Crumlin) beat Francis Campbell (Crumlin) 3-0
60kg Joe Fitzpatrick (Immaculata) beat James McDowell (UL) DISQ2
64kg Sean Montgomery (Canal, Defence Forces) beat Martin Noonan (Riverstown) 2-1
64kg Sean Duffy (Holy Trinity) beat Paul Hyland (Gleann) 3-0
64kg Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) beat Niall Murray (Gorey) 3-0
64kg Ciaran Bates (St Marys) beat Dean O’Gorman (Carrick on Suir) 3-0
64kg Dean Walsh (St Josephs/St Ibars) beat Jason Conroy (Crumlin) 3-0
64kg Rohan Date (St Pauls) beat Patrick Mongan (Olympic) 3-0
64kg Noel Murphy (Macroom) beat Mark O’Hara (Holy Trinity) TKOI3
69kg Brian Brosnan (Olympic, Defences Forces) beat Johnny Harty (Rathkeale) 3-0
69kg David Roche (Riverstown, Defence Forces) beat Petru Ursu (Lucan) 3-0
91kg Gary Sweeney (Olympic) beat Patrick Corcoran (Olympic) 2-1


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years