AmateurHeadline NewsLatestNewsTop News of The Day

Ireland’s impressive World Youth Record

The current Ireland Youth Squad will be looking to the add to 23 medals won by Ireland at World Youth Championships over the years.

Former world champion Eamonn Loughran and Denis Galvin were the first to win medals for Ireland in the tournament, doing so in 1987 in Havana, Cuba back when it was known as the World Juniors.

The latest Irish medal won at the biannual under-18 tournament was by recent Commonwealth Games medal winner Jude Gallagher in 2018.

No Irish team competed at the tournament in 2021 (which was delayed from 2020).

Among the 2 gold, 7 silver and 14 bronze medal winners are names like Neil ‘Sinky’ Sinclair, Eamonn Magee, Collie Barrett, Andy Lee, Ray Moylette, Tommy McCarthy, Joe Ward, Ryan Burnett, Michaela Walsh and Christina Desmond.

The full list is below:

1987 Havana, Cuba
63.5kg Eamonn Loughran (Silver)
71kg Denis Galvin (Bronze)

1989 Bayamon, Puerto Rico
63.5kg Eamonn Magee (Silver)

1992 Montreal, Canada
63.5kg Neil Sinclair (Bronze)

1998 Buenos Aires, Argentina
48kg Harry Cunningham (Silver)
51kg Darren Campbell (Bronze)

2000 Budapest, Hungary
91kg Coleman Barrett (Silver)

2002 Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
71kg Andy Lee (Silver)

2008 Guadalajara, Mexico
60kg Ray Moylette (Gold)
64kg Jamie Kavanagh (Silver)
69kg David Joe Joyce (Bronze)
81kg Tommy McCarthy (Bronze)

2010 Baku, Azerbaijan
75kg Joe Ward (Gold)
48kg Ryan Burnett (Silver)

2011 Antalya, Turkey
57kg Michaela Walsh (Bronze)

2012 Yerevan, Armenia
52kg Kurt Walker (Bronze)

2013 Albena, Bulgaria
69kg Christina Desmond (Silver)

2015 Taipei, Taiwan
54kg Natasha Logan (Bronze)

2016 Moscow, Russia
64kg Gabriel Dossen (Bronze)
75kg Michael Nevin (Bronze)

2017 Guhawati, India
48kg Caitlin Fryers (Bronze)
64kg Katelynn Phelan (Bronze)

2018 Budapest, Hungary
49kg Jude Gallagher (Bronze)

Team Ireland Squad

48kg Thady Patsy Joyce, Olympic L, Westmeath

51kg Jack Harkin, Oakleaf BC, Derry

54kg Gavin Ryan, Ratoath BC, Meath

57kg Roy Farrelly, Avona BC, Dublin

60kg Lee McEvoy, Avona BC, Dublin

67kg James Donovan, OLOL, Limerick

71kg Bobbi Flood, Cabra BC, Dublin

75kg TJ King, Phoenix of Ballyboughal, Dublin

80kg Ryan Murphy, Neilstown, Dublin

86kg Nathan Ojo, Esker, Dublin

92kg David McDonagh, Olympic BC, Galway

92+ Bernard Cawley, St. David’s BC, Naas


48kg Georgia McGovern, Setanta L, Kildare

50kg Caoimhe Kinsella, St Anthony’s/Pats, Wexford

52kg Esther Lambe, Setanta L, Kildare

54kg Shakira Donoghue, Templemore, Tipperary

57kg Rebecca Kavanagh, Mulhuddart,

60kg Yasmin Meredith, Corinthians BC, Dublin

63kg Rebecca Collins, Baldoyle, Dublin

66kg Gabrielle Mongan, Whitechurch, Dublin

70kg Laura Moran, St Anne’s, Mayo

81kg Dearbhla Tinnelly, Clann Naofa, Louth

81+kg Cliona D’Arcy, Tobar Pheadair, Galway

Team Manager: Francis Keeling

Team Manager: Bernadette Lannon

Coach: Lynne McEnery

Coach: Michael Mongan

Coach: Liam Cunningham


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years