Elite Competition Thursday Afternoon results

IABA Press Release

Thirteen quarter-finals were decided this morning and afternoon at the Open Unseeded Elite Competition at Dublin’s National Stadium.

Tyrone McCullagh posted an impressive win over Shane Cox in the opening bout of today’s session.

Cox had a good first round and went in at the break just one point (4-3) in arrears against the 2010 European bronze medalist and Elite featherweight champ.

However, McCullagh fired home some fine shots off the back foot in the second to race into a 13-7 lead on his way to a 22-10 decision.
The all Holy Trinity BC derby went the way of Mark O’Hara at the expense of his club-mate Sean McComb, O’Hara earning a 13-5 decision.
Five-time Elite champ and European bronze medalist Eric Donovan looked sharp and focused in his clash with Gavin Keating, the St Michael’s Athy man producing a particularly good second roundon his way to a 24-10 decision.

Donovan will now meet his own St Michael’s Athy team-mate David Oliver Joyce in the semi-finals tomorrow. Joyce, the 2009 EU champ, forced Jason Conroy into a standing count in the second en route to a 13-5 victory today.

“It’s a pity we have to box each other again, said Joyce in relation to today’s clash with Donovan. We have met twice before and we have won one apiece.Whoever wants to get to the worlds will have to win.”

Elite welterweight champ Adam Nolan, meanwhile, turned in an exhibition to post a comprehensive 21-6 verdict over Niall Murray, while John Joe Joyce let a 3-1 first round lead slip against his St Michael’s Athy team-mate Roy Sheehan.

Sheehan got the better of some furious exchanges in the second round of this encounter and was full value for a 16-8 victory. Meantime, Karl Brabazon secured his second victory in 24-hours with a 16-11 decision over Paul Upton.

Michael O’Reilly held a two point advantage (12-10) over Stephen Donnelly going into the third and also had a two point advantage at the final bell, while Stephen O’Reilly won every round 3-2 to post a 9-6 win over Conor Coyle.

Shane Murtagh, Conrad Cummings, 2009 European Youth champ Jason Quigley and Ken Ogunkbowa also won to book their tickets into Friday’s semi-finals.

Friday’s last four duels will be decided over two sessions beginning at 2pm and 7pm. The finals will be held Saturday (3pm).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

18 − 16 =