AmateurHeadline NewsLatestNewsTop News of The Day

Double Down – Four more Irish Boxers fight for medals today

Team Ireland will look to double their European Championship medal haul today.

A day after four Irish boxers claimed a record four medals at the tournament in Budva, four more will contest for a place on the podium.

Looking to join Shannon Sweeney, Michaela Walsh, Amy Broadhurst and Christina Desmond in the semi-finals are Olympic Champion Kellie Harrington, Olympian, and reigning European Champ Aoife O’Rourke, Belfast’s Caitlin Fryers, and Bray’s European Under-22 medal winner Kaci Rock.

50kg Caitlin Fryers is first up – she contests against Bulgaria’s Zlatislava Chukanova in bout 2 of the afternoon session. In bout 12, reigning Olympic lightweight champ, Kellie Harrington, meets England’s, Shona Whitwell for a medal.

Welterweight, Kaci Rock, opens proceedings in the evening session, against Germany’s Stefanie von Berge. Olympian, 75kg Aoife O’Rourke will meet Turkey’s Busra Isildar in bout 8.

The EUBC and the IBA are streaming the tournament on their YouTube channels. Links, per session, will issue overnight.

Team Ireland Squad
48kg: Shannon Sweeney, St. Anne’s, Mayo

50kg: Caitlin Fryers, Immaculata BC, Belfast

52kg: Carly McNaul, Ormeau Road BC, Belfast

54kg: Niamh Fay, Phoenix of Ballyboughal BC, Dublin

57kg: Michaela Walsh, Emerald BC, Belfast

60kg: Kellie Harrington, St. Mary’s BC, Dublin

63kg: Amy Broadhurst, St. Bronagh’s ABC, Newry

66kg: Kaci Rock, Enniskerry BC, Wicklow

70kg: Christina Desmond, Dungarvan BC/Garda BC

75kg: Aoife O’Rourke, Olympic BC, Galway


Zauri Antia

John Conlan

Dmitrij Dmitruk

Eoin Pluck


Rob Tuomey.

Jonny Stapleton contributor for 15 years and editor for the past decade. Have been covering boxing for over 16 years and writing about sports for a living for over 20 years. Former Assistant Sports editor for the Gazette News Paper Group and former Tallaght Voice Sports Editor. Have had work published in publications around the world when working as a freelance journalist. Also co-founder of Junior Sports Media and Leinster Rugby PRO of the Year winner. email: