AmateurHeadline NewsLatestNewsTop News of The Day

Brilliant Broadhurst takes gold

AMY Sara Broadhurst is the European light welterweight champion, after a fantastic performance this evening in Macedonia.

She entered the ring very shortly after Kellie Harrington had taken gold, so momentum was very much on the Irish side as hostilities commenced. 

Straight from the off it was very clear that Broadhurst was a cut above Ukraine’s Mariia Bova, as the Irish fighter was delivering one of the best performances of the championships.

Her greater strength was clear to see, and it was apparent that whenever her powerful left hand landed it was troubling Bova.

Late in the first stanza Bova was given a standing count, and two of the five judges scored the round 10-8, such was the dominance of Broadhurst.

Bova had very little to offer in response and the second round saw Broadhurst continue to dominate, with that left hand a really potent weapon. In the closing seconds of the round she did ease off very slightly, with Bova managing to land a few shots, but there was only one winner, and all five judges scored it 10-9.

Broadhurst also dominated the final three minutes, giving a really impressive display, surely the best of the day’s first seven fights, and she romped home to a completely deserved victory.

It was Ireland’s second gold of the day, and it sees Broadhurst add to her world and commonwealth titles.  If she continues to produce this kind of form it is hard to see her being bested any time in the near future. 

One could only sympathise with the plight of Bova on the day, as she was simply meeting a technically superior and stronger force. 

Team Ireland Squad

48kg: Shannon Sweeney, St. Anne’s, Mayo

50kg: Caitlin Fryers, Immaculata BC, Belfast

52kg: Carly McNaul, Ormeau Road BC, Belfast

54kg: Niamh Fay, Phoenix of Ballyboughal BC, Dublin

57kg: Michaela Walsh, Emerald BC, Belfast

60kg: Kellie Harrington, St. Mary’s BC, Dublin

63kg: Amy Broadhurst, St. Bronagh’s ABC, Newry

66kg: Kaci Rock, Enniskerry BC, Wicklow

70kg: Christina Desmond, Dungarvan BC/Garda BC

75kg: Aoife O’Rourke, Olympic BC, Galway


Zauri Antia

John Conlan

Dmitrij Dmitruk

Eoin Pluck


Rob Tuomey.