Back On! Joyce to face TJ Doheny defeater on TV world title fight undercard

David Oliver Joyce [12(9)-1(1)] tricky fight with Ionut Baluta [13(2)-2(0)] has been rescheduled and bumped up to a bigger show.

DOJ was meant to fight the potential banana skin on Wednesday gone, but the bout had to be cancelled. It’s now been remade and is set for a TV show.

‘The Punisher’ could get Irish revenge live on BT Sports on the undercard of the world title showdown between WBA and IBF super-lightweight champion Taylor and unbeaten mandatory challenger Apinun Khongsong, which goes down on Saturday 26 September.

Joyce’s Spanish based 26-year-old opponent shocked former world champion TJ Doheny in Dubai as recent as March.

‘Il Capo’ was drafted in to keep the Portlaoise native busy ahead a possible return to world level, but didn’t read the script and registered a massive upset.

Discussing the fight and his opponent when it was first announced Joyce said: “I’ve watched Baluta’s last fight with TJ Doheny. He’s not bad, and throws lots of punches on the back foot. TJ didn’t perform against him, but I’m in a different mind frame. I’m used to taking on guys like this so I’m looking forward in getting in there.”

MTK Global Vice-President Jamie Conlan added:  “Baluta is riding the crest of a wave beating Kyle Williams and then former World Champion TJ Doheny in March. all the while fighting out of the away corner.

“Davey is coming off a career best win against former world champion Lee Haskins in February and is hunting for a world title shot at super-bantamweight, now ranked no. 12 in the world with the WBO.”

Jonny Stapleton contributor for 15 years and editor for the past decade. Have been covering boxing for over 16 years and writing about sports for a living for over 20 years. Former Assistant Sports editor for the Gazette News Paper Group and former Tallaght Voice Sports Editor. Have had work published in publications around the world when working as a freelance journalist. Also co-founder of Junior Sports Media and Leinster Rugby PRO of the Year winner. email: