AmateurHeadline News

Agonisingly close – Nevin and Walsh bow out of the Worlds after close split decision defeats

Michael Nevin and Aidan Walsh both suffered agonisingly close defeat in Exakerinburg, Russia today.

Both men lost on identical 3-2 split decisions and bowed out of the World Elites Championships.

On both occasions, one of the judges awarded Nevin and Walsh all three rounds, but when all five judges scores were taken into account the pair lost out.

Portlaoise BC puncher, Nevin exited after making the last 16. The young fighter was defeated by Gleb Bakshi, who also had his monents in an absorbing middleweight encounter.

The Bakshi, the No. 8 seed, got the nod in a close fight and advances to meet Cuba’s No. 1 seed current Olympic champion Arlen Cardona-Lopez in the last eight.

Scores – 29-28,29-28,29-28 to Bakshi and 30-27,29-28 to Nevin.

Earlier, Aidan Walsh was on the wrong end of a 3-2 split verdict versus England’s current European champion Pat McCormack.

But the Antrim welter won plenty of plaudits for his skilful and gutsy performance against the No. 2 seed.

Scores – 29-28,29-28,29-28 for McCormack and 30-27,29-28 for Walsh.


The World Championships debutant found the target with plenty of clean shots, particularly in rounds two and three. in a repeat of the 2018 Commonwealth final which Sunderland-born McCormack, who worked hard throughout today’s bout, won in Australia.

It was a brilliant performance from the Monkstown BC man who needed just one more judge to lean toward the red corner to take out one of the favourites in the 69kg class.

Antrim’s Kurt Walker, the last Irish boxer remaining at the 77-nation tournament, meets Canada’s Robin Basran for a place in the quarter-finals tomorrow.

The featherweight clash is a repeat of the 2018 Commonwealth semi-final which Walker won in Australia.

2019 World Elite Men’s Championships Ekaterinburg, Russia

September 16

Last 32

69kg Aidan Walsh (Ireland) lost to Pat McCormack (England) 2-3

Last 16

75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) lost to Gleb Bakshi (Russia) 2-3

September 17

Last 16

57kg Kurt Walker (Ireland) v Robin Basran (Canada)


September 16

Last 32

69kg Aidan Walsh (Ireland) lost to Pat McCormack (England) 2-3

Last 16

75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) lost to Gleb Bakshi (Russia) 2-3

September 15

Last 32

57kg Kurt Walker beat David Avila (Columbia) 4-1
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Ireland) lost to Radoslav Panaleev (Bulgaria)1-4

September 14

Last 32

75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) beat Vytautas Balsys (Lithuania) 5-0

September 13

Last 64

69kg Aidan Walsh (Ireland) beat Miroslav Kapuler-Cishchenko (Israel) 4-1

September 12

Last 64

52kg Regan Buckley (Ireland) lost to Aldoms Suquor (Indonesia) 2-3
63kg Wayne Kelly (Ireland) lost to Matthew Alexander (Trinidad & Tobago) 2-3

September 10

Last 64

81kg Kane Tucker (Ireland) lost to Erkin Adylbek (Kyrgyzstan) 0-5
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Ireland) beat Austin Aokuso (Australia) 5-0

September 9

Last 64

75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) beat Andre1 Vreme (Moldova) 5-0

Irish squad

52kg: Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s)
57kg: Kurt Walker (Canal)
63kg: Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise)
69kg: Aidan Walsh (Monkstown)
75kg: Michael Nevin (Portlaoise)
81kg: Kane Tucker (Emerald)
91kg: Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield)

High-Performance Director: Bernard Dunne

Head coach: Zaur Antia

Coaches: John Conlan and Eoin Pluck


Jonny Stapleton contributor for 15 years and editor for the past decade. Have been covering boxing for over 16 years and writing about sports for a living for over 20 years. Former Assistant Sports editor for the Gazette News Paper Group and former Tallaght Voice Sports Editor. Have had work published in publications around the world when working as a freelance journalist. Also co-founder of Junior Sports Media and Leinster Rugby PRO of the Year winner. email: