AmateurHeadline News

Ulster Elite Senior + Irish U22 Championships – FULL DRAWS

The draws have been made for the Ulster Elite Senior Championships and National U22 Championships which begin this week in Belfast and Dublin respectively.

Boxing commences at the Dockers Club in Belfast tomorrow before a big finals night on Saturday 19th at the Ulster Hall.

The quarters and semis of the U22s will take place this weekend before a weekend off and a big finals night at the National Stadium on Friday 25tth

33 boxers have entered the Ulsters and 10 out of a possible 20 weights will be contested – with an additional three walkovers for Ricky Nesbitt, Rory Baird, and Caroline Connelly

59 boxers have entered the Under-22s and 15 of the 20 weights are to contested – with an further four walkovers for Nell Fox, Shauna O’Callaghan, Mary Geraghty, and Orinta Ringyte.

Five fighters – flyweight Caitlin Fryers, welter Tiernan Duffy, lightweight Dominic Bradley, and bantam/feathers John Paul Hale and Colm Murphy – have entered both competitions.

The Ulsters will be using the new weight category limits, the first Irish tournament to do so while the U22s will stick with the old limits

See below for both draws in full.

Ulster Elite Championships 2019
Tuesday 8th January 2019 8:30pm
Dockworkers Club, Belfast
Semi Finals
48kg Donna Barr (Illies GG) V Emma Feeney (Virginia)
49kg Diarmuid Toland (Holy Family) v Jack O’Neill (Corpus Christi)
57kg John Paul Hale (Star) v Eamon McNally (St Michaels)
57kg Colm Murphy (St Georges) V Conor Kerr (Monkstown)
63kg Dylan Duffy (Pegasus) v Ben Ferran (Clonard)
63kg James McGivern (St Georges) v Ryan Lavery (Holy Family)
75kg Brett McGinty (Oakleaf) v Eraid Muihai (Dockers)
91kg Cathal Morrow (Ballykelly) V Karol Dulgloz (Scorpion)
91+kg Denis Borskins (Sacred Heart Newry) v Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity)

Saturday 19th January
Ulster Hall, Belfast
Finals 7:00pm
48kg Chloe Fleck (Canal) v Winner
49kg Rory Baird W/O
51kg Caitlin Fryers (Immaculata) v Carly McNaul (Holy Family GG)
52kg Ricky Nesbitt (Holy Family Drogheda) W/O
54kg No Entries
57kg Winner v Winner
57kg No Entries
60kg Dominic Bradley (Errigal) v Barry Mc Reynolds (Holy Trinity)
60kg No Entries
63kg Winner v Winner
64kg No Entries
69kg Eugene Mc Keever (Holy Family Drogheda) v Tiernan Duffy (Clonard)
69kg No Entries
75kg Fergus Quinn (Carnlough) v Winner
75kg Caroline Connelly (Mourne GG) W/O
81kg Paul Mc Cullagh (St John Bosco Belfast) v Noel Donnelly (Holy Family Drogheda)
81kg No Entries
81kg No Entries
91kg Michael Erpelding (Holy Family GG) v Winner
91+kg Joe Joyce (Erne) v Winner


National Men’s and Women’s U/22 Championships 2019
National Stadium Dublin.
Friday January 11th 7:00pm
56kg Kian Doyle (Crumlin) v Kane Marshall (Emerald)
60kg David Oliver Joyce (Ballymun) V Francis Cleary (Ballina)
60kg Lee McKee (Star) V Dominic Bradley (Errigal)
64kg Matthew McCole (Dungloe) V Padraig Convery (Holy Family Drogheda)
64kg Terry McEntee (Old School) V Stephen Lockhart (Baldoyle)
64kg Shane Flavin (Paulstown) V Pierce O’Leary (Dublin Docklands)
64kg Michael Avetisian (Swords) V Ben Ferran (Clonard A)
81kg Jack Lawlor (Thurles) V Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles)

51kg Nycole Hayes (Togher) V Niamh Early (Ryston)
60kg Jennifer Lehane (D.C.U.) V Amy Broadhurst (Delagan)
60kg Aisling Murray (Muskerry) V Isobella Hughes (Mount Tallant)
75kg Lauren Kelly (St Brigids Edenderry) V Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea)

Saturday January 12th 6:00pm
56kg Colm Murphy (St Georges) V Winner
56kg Sean Purcell (Enniskerry) V John Paul Hale (Star)
60kg Yannick Meseke (Olympic) V Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh)
60kg Winner V Winner
64kg Winner V Winner
64kg Winner V Winner
69kg Aaron Daly (Castlebar) V Michael Kinsella (St Anthony’s/St Pats)
69kg Tiernan Duffy (Clonard A) V Patrick Donovan (O.L.O.L.)
75kg John Joe Nevin (Crumlin) V Edward Donovan (O.L.O.L.)
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) V Gabriel Dossen (Olympic)
81kg Rhys Moran (St Pauls W) V Sean Conroy (Castlebar)
81kg Kelyn Cassidy (St Saviours OBA) V Winner
91+kg James Clarke (Crumlin) V Gytis Lisinskas (Celtic Eagles)

Saturday January 25th 6:30pm
48kg Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) V Courtney Daly (Crumlin)
49kg Jack O’Neill (Corpus Christi) V Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s)
51kg Caitlyn Fryers (Immaculata) V Winner
52kg Mark Corcoran (Corinthians) V Adam Hession (Monivea)
54kg Orinta Ringyte (Riverstown) W/O
56kg Winner V Winner
57kg Mary Geraghty (St Anthonys) W/O
60kg Winner V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
64kg Shauna O’Callaghan (Clann Naofa) W/O
64kg Winner V Winner
69kg Clodagh Greene (Crumlin) V Elice Elliott (South Meath)
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg Renee Roche (Castlebar) V Winner
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Winner V Winner
81kg No Entries
81+kg Nell Fox (Rathkeale) W/O
91kg Kevin Sheehy (St Francis) V Thomas Maughan (Cavan)
91+kg Luke Hall (Crumlin) V Winner

Note: Since the original draw was published, the 56kg draw has been amended, with the addition of Kane Marshall. This has been corrected in the draw above.


logo may

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: