Two Irish fighters in World Championship action today


Two Irish fighters will be looking to follow Micheal Nevin into the last 32 of the World Championships today.

Kane Tucker and Kiril Afanasev box in the light heavy and heavy classes on Day 2 of the World Men’s Elite Championships in Ekaterinburg.

Belfast’s Tucker meets Kyrgyzstan’s Erkin Adylbek in the 81kg clash and while 91kg fighter Afanasev will look to defeat Australia’s Austin Aokuso in bouts No. 6 and 11.

Boxing begins at 11am (Irish time), according to the program.

Michael Nevin, pictured got Ireland off to a winning start yesterday morning as he beat Modova’s Andrei Vreme.

The Portlaoise BC middleweight won on a unanimous decision – 30-27,30-27,29-28,29-28,29-28.

2019 World Elite Men’s Championships Ekaterinburg, Russia

September 9

Last 64

75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) beat Andre1 Vreme (Moldova) 5-0

September 10

Last 64

81kg Kane Tucker (Ireland) v Erkin Adylbek (Kyrgyzstan)
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Ireland) v Austin Aokuso (Australia)

September 12

Last 64

52kg Regan Buckley (Ireland) v Aldoms Suquor (Indonesia)
63kg Wayne Kelly (Ireland) v Matthew Alexander (Trinidad & Tobago)

September 13

Last 64

69kg Aidan Walsh (Ireland) v Miroslav Kapuler (Israel)

September 14

Last 32

75kg Michael Nevin (Ireland) v Vytautas Balsys (Lithuania)

September 15

Last 32

57kg Kurt Walker v Samuel Kostohurry (France) or David Avila (Columbia)

Irish squad

52kg: Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s)
57kg: Kurt Walker (Canal)
63kg: Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise)
69kg: Aidan Walsh (Monkstown)
75kg: Michael Nevin (Portlaoise)
81kg: Kane Tucker (Emerald)
91kg: Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield)

High-Performnce Director: Bernard Dunne

Head coach: Zaur Antia

Coaches: John Conlan and Eoin Pluck


Jonny Stapleton contributor for 15 years and editor for the past decade. Have been covering boxing for over 16 years and writing about sport for a living for 19 years. Former Assistant Sports editor for the Gazette News Paper Group and former Tallaght Voice Sports Editor. Have had work published in publications around the world when working as a freelance journalist. Also co-founder of Junior Sports Media and Leinster Rugby PRO of the Year winner. email: