AmateurFeaturesHeadline News

The Rinty Monaghan Fighter of the Year with Liffey Crane Hire

Following five days and 14 previous categories in the Smackwear Awards, it’s finally time for the big one.

The Rinty Monaghan Fighter of the Year in association with Liffey Crane Hire.

A major year for the sport on this island, there have been big wins galore, major titles, and major medals, as boxing continually proves itself to be Ireland’s most successful sport.

Fighter of the Year

TJ Doheny
The Portlaoise super bantamweight scored one of the Irish boxing wins of the century in August when he travelled to Japan to dethrone Ryosuke Iwasa in the Korakuen Hall to take the IBF world title.

doheny ire

Kelly Harrington
The Dublin lightweight showed every facet of her game to win five fights and top the podium at the World Championships in India last month, becoming just the third Irish boxer to do so and putting her in prime position for a charge at Olympic gold.

kelly harrington

Dennis Hogan
The Kildare light middleweight defeated Jimmy Kelly in a second successive world title eliminator before, with mandatory position already confirmed and therefore ‘risked’, beating Jamie Weetch and the Brisbane-based fight will now challenge for a belt in the new year.

Katie Taylor
The Wicklow lightweight added the IBF title to her WBA crown with a unification war win over Victoria Noelia Bustos and followed this up with successful defences versus Kimberley Connor, Cindy Serrano, and Eva Wahlstrom.

James Tennyson
The Belfast super feather claimed the European and Commonwealth titles with an upset win over Martin J Ward back in May, a victory made all the more remarkable by him having to climb off the canvas to claim a knockout victory before going out on his shield versus IBF champ Tevin Farmer.


[yop_poll id=”53″]

You can vote in the earlier polls below:

The John Duddy Fight of the Year

The Andy Lee KO of the Year

The Eamonn Magee Jr Prospect of the Year

Moment of the Year

Performance of the Year

Breakthrough of the Year

Club of the Year

The Freddie Gilroy Young Boxer of the Year

The Micky Ward Round of the Year

The Patrick Hyland Sr Trainer of the Year

Comeback of the Year

The Alejandro González Jr Opponent of the Year

The Sean Mannion Gallant Defeat of the Year

Pro Debut of the Year


logo may

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: