AmateurHeadline News

National U22 Championships – DAY 1 RESULTS

The National U22 Championships got underway tonight in Dublin with a bang.

Nine quarter and semi-final bouts were decided at the National Stadium.

Pierce O’Leary turned heads with a stunning win over Shane Flavin while Aoife O’Rourke defeated Lauren Kelly in a battle of the European U22 and Junior and Youth medallists.

There were also wins for major medallists Niamh Early, Amy Broadhurst, and Terry McEntee, along with Matthew McCole, Dominic Bradley, Cian Doyle, and Isobella Hughes.

In a correction to the IABA results, David Oliver Joyce got a walkover past Francis Cleary rather than vice versa as was initially reported.

Action resumes tomorrow evening with the remainder of the semi-finals

National Men’s and Women’s U/22 Championships National Stadium Dublin.
Friday January 11 (7pm)
56kg Cian Doyle (Crumlin) beat Kane Marshall (Emerald A) 5-0
60kg David Oliver Joyce (Ballymun) W/O
60kg Dominic Bradley (Errigal) beat Lee McKee (Star) 5-0
64kg Matthew McCole (Dungloe) beat Padraig Convery (Holy Family Drogheda) 5-0
64kg Terry McEntee (Old School) beat Stephen Lockhart (Baldoyle) RSC3
64kg Pierce O’Leary (Dublin Docklands) beat Shane Flavin (Paulstown) 5-0
64kg Michael Avetisian (Swords) W/O
81kg Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles) W/O
51kg Niamh Early (Ryston) beat Nycole Hayes (Togher) 5-0
60kg Amy Broadhurst (Delagan) beat Jennifer Lehane (D.C.U.) 5-0
60kg Isobella Hughes (Mount Tallant) beat Aisling Murray (Muskerry) 5-0
75kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea) beat Lauren Kelly (St Brigids Edenderry) 5-0

Saturday January 12 (6pm)
56kg Colm Murphy (St Georges) V Cian Doyle (Crumlin)
56kg John Paul Hale (Star) V Sean Purcell (Enniskerry)
60kg Yannick Meseke (Olympic) V Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh)
60kg Francis Cleary (Ballina) V Dominic Bradley (Errigal)
64kg Matthew McCole (Dungloe) V Terry McEntee (Old School)
64kg Pierce O’Leary (Dublin Docklands) V Michael Avetisian (Swords)
69kg Aaron Daly (Castlebar) V Michael Kinsella (St Anthony’s/St Pats)
69kg Tiernan Duffy (Clonard A) V Patrick Donovan (O.L.O.L.)
75kg John Joe Nevin (Crumlin) V Edward Donovan (O.L.O.L.)
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) V Gabriel Dossen (Olympic)
81kg Rhys Moran (St Pauls W) V Sean Conroy (Castlebar)
81kg Kelyn Cassidy (St Saviours/Crystal) V Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles)
91+kg James Clarke (Crumlin) V Gytis Lisinskas (Celtic Eagles)

Friday January 25
Finals (6.30pm)
48kg Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) V Courtney Daly Crumlin)
49kg Jack O’Neill (Corpus Christi) V Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s)
51kg Caitlyn Fryers (Immaculata) V Niamh Early (Ryston)
52kg Mark Corcoran (Corinthians) V Adam Hession (Monivea)
54kg Orinta Ringyte (Riverstown) W/O
56kg Winner V Winner
57kg Mary Geraghty (St Anthonys) W/O
60kg Amy Broadhurst (Delagan) V
60kg Winner V Winner
64kg Shauna O’Callaghan (Clann Naofa) W/O
64kg Winner V Winner
69kg Clodagh Greene (Crumlin) V Elice Elliott (South Meath)
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg Renee Roche (Castlebar) V Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea)
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Winner V Winner
81+kg Nell Fox (Rathkeale) W/O
91kg Kevin Sheehy (St Francis) V Thomas Maughan (Cavan)
91+kg Luke Hall (Crumlin) V Winner


logo may

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: