AmateurHeadline News

National U22 and Open U18 Championships – DRAW

The draw has been made for the National U/22 Championships and U/18 Open which begin today.

The two competitions, which will factor into team selection for the European Championships, take place at the National Stadium in Dublin throughout January, with boxing beginning tonight at 7pm.

A second session begins at 3pm on Saturday.

This weekend is concerned with the preliminary and quarter final rounds, with the pick of the fights looking like the U18 flyweight quarter final on Saturday afternoon between last year’s light fly champion Terry O’Donoghue and Commonwealth Youth Games participant Kian Bittles.

National U/22 C’Ships and U/18 Open (Full draw to be added when announced)

Friday January 12th
Prelims and Q/Finals (7pm)
56kg Brendan McCarthy (St.Micheals Athy) V Jamie Lynch (Kilnamanagh)
56kg Daniel Khereddine (Bracken) V Killian Geraghty (Crumlin)
64gk Pierce O’Leary (Docklands) V Conall Ross (St.Georges)
64kg Connor Renaghan (Keady) V James Power ( Legacy)
64kg Davy Keenan (Rathkeale) V Callum Walsh (Riverstown)
64kg Tiernan Duffy (Clonard A) V Jamie Murphy (Ballybrack)
64kg JP Fitzpatrick (Bay City) V Will Hazel (Tramore)

60kg Francis Cleary ( Ballina) V Ben Teeling (Holy Family D)
60kg Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh) V Daryl O’Brien (St. Catherines )
60kg Shane Flavin (Paulstown) V Vyank Maseke (Leos L)
64kg Mathew McCole (Dungloe) V Mosa Kambule (Holy Trinity)
64kg Martin Sammon (Olympic) V Aaron Daly (Castlebar)
64gk Kenneth Doyle (Monkstown D) V Harrison Jameson (Virginia U)
64kg Michael Kinsella (St.Anthonys/Pats) V Ryan O’Rourke (St.Michaels D)
69kg Patrick McConigley (Letterkenny) V Shane Dooley (Clonard L)
81kg Thomas Maughan (Virginia ) V Keanan Gibson (Convoy)
81kg Sean Conroy (Ballinacarrow) V Brian Kennedy (St. Marys Daingean)

Saturday January 13th
U/18 Q/Finals (3pm)
52kg Dean Clancy (Ballinacarrow) V Sean Kelly (Dunfanaghy)
52kg Timmy Fitzmaurice (Loughglynn) V John Cowman (St Pals Waterford)
52kg Gerry Owens (Holy Family D) V Owen McDonagh (Leeside Lough)
52kg Terry O’Donoghue (St Michaels Athy) V Kian Bittles (Holy Trinity)
56kg Michael Hutchinson (Tipperary Town) V Fionnan Rodgers (Dungloe)
56kg Oisin Lally (Geesala) V John Paul Hale (Star)
56kg Colm Murphy (St Georges ) V Martin McDonagh (Ballina)
56kg Winner V Winner
60kg Lee McKee (Star) V David O Joyce (Holy Family D)
60kg Ciaran White (Monivea) V Sean Dempsey (Sacre Coeur)
60kg Seamus Mongan (Bay City) V Chris Myers (Sparticus)
60kg Eddie Corcoran (Cloghan) V Alex Higgins (Fr Horgans)
64kg Luke Burke (Grangecon) V Sean Butler (Riverstown)
64kg Lee Mackin (Dealgan) V Winner
64kg Winner V Winner
64kg Winner V Winner
69kg Edward Donovan (O.L.O.L.) V Mike Joyce (Baldoyle)
75kg Mduduzi Mdlovu (Sligo City) V Kane Tucker (Holy Trinity)
75kg Martin J Ward (Olympic) V Mikey McDonagh (Navan)
81kg Ighosa Igharo (Clann Naofa) V Oran McNaughton (Dockers)
81kg Ryan Bolger (Crumlin) V Jason Ward (Monivea)
91kg Pierre Stokes (Leos) V Sean Casey (Banbridge)
91kg Tommy Gavin (Darndale) V Conall McErlean (Moneyglass)

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: