AmateurHeadline News

National U18 Championships – DAY 1 RESULTS

The National U-18 Championships kicked off last night in Dublin.

Twelve quarter and semi-finals were decided at the National Stadium on the opening night.

Highlights of the night included another win for the World Championships-bound Brandon McCarthy over Commonwealth Youth bronze medallist Colm Murphy and a 20-second knockout for returning European Schoolboys medallist Barry McReynolds over Jordan Carragher.

The tournament resumes next Friday evening with some tasty-looking scraps including McReynolds versus last year’s bantamweight champion Davey Oliver Joyce Jr and European Junior champ Edward Donovan versus rising star David McDonagh.

National U/18 Men’s and Women’s Championships
Friday July 13
Q/Finals (7pm)
W54kg Mary Kate Nevin (St Brigids E) beat  Nicole McCabe (O’Hanlon Park) 5-0
W54kg Catherine Blaney (Navan) beat Orinta Ringyte (Riverstown) 3-2
56kg Paul Loonam (St Carthages) beat  Davey Joyce (Holy Family Drogheda) 5-0
56kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michael Athy) beat Colm Murphy (St Georges) 5-0
60kg David Oliver Joyce (Ballymun) beat James Conroy (Tobar Pheadair) 5-0
60kg Barry McReynolds (Holy Trinity) beat Jordan Carragher (Tredagh) KO1
69kg Christian Preston (Dublin Docklands) beat Conor Renaghan (Sean Dorans) 5-0
69kg Rokas Boltrzakainis (Clane) beat  Gareth Browne (Springtown) RSC3

W57kg Zara Breslin (Tramore) beat Sophie O’Connor (Jobstown) 5-0
W60kg Shauna O’Callaghan (Clann Naofa) beat Carmen Mavrodin (Baldoyle) RSC1
W60kg Marguerita Nevin (St Bridgids K) beat Tiffany O’Reilly (Curragh) 5-0
W69kg Nadine Dermody (Raging Bull) beat Bobbie Hendrick (Sacre Coeur) RSC3

Friday July 20
S/Finals (6.30pm)
52kg Terry Donoghue (St Michaels Athy) V Michael Agnew (Lisburn)
52kg John Cowman (St Pauls Waterford) V Danny Duffy (Immaculata Strabane)
W54kg Courtney McCrudden (Emerald A) V Megan Coleman (Baldoyle)
W54kg Mary Kate Nevin (St Brigids E) V Catherine Blaney (Navan)
56kg Oisin Lally (Geesala) V Killian Geraghty (Crumlin)
56kg Paul Loonam (St Carthages) V Brandon McCarthy (St Michael Athy)
60kg James Power (Legacy) V Eddie Corcoran (Cloghan)
60kg David Oliver Joyce (Ballymun)  V Barry McReynolds (Holy Trinity)
64kg Eric Byrne (Sacred Heart Dublin) V Jamie Murphy (Ballybrack)
64kg Bernard Corcoran (Carrickmore) V Callum Walsh (Riverstown)
69kg David McDonagh (Mullingar Elite) V Edward Donovan (O.L.O.L.)
69kg Christian Preston (Dublin Docklands) V Rokas Boltrzakainis (Clane)
75kg Adam Matthews (Monkstown D) V Jake Tucker (Holy Family GG)
75kg Dylan Caldwell (Crumlin) V Martin Sweeney (Westside)
81kg Jack Lawlor (Thurles) V Eghosa Igharo (Clann Naofa)
81kg Kane Tucker (Holy Family GG) V Francis O’Donnell (Ballymun)

Friday July 27 Finals (6.30pm)
W48kg Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) V Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry)
49kg Jude Gallagher (Two Castles) V Adam Hession (Monivea)
W51kg Caitlin Fryers (Immaculata) V Jessica Clarke (Carndonagh)
52kg Winner V Winner
W54kg Winner V Winner
56kg Winner V Winner
W57kg Aoibhe Ginty (Geesala) V Zara Breslin (Tramore)
W60kg Shauna O’Callaghan (Clann Naofa) V Marguerita Nevin (St Bridgids K)
60kg Winner V Winner
W64kg Katelyn Phelan (St Brigids K) V Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa)
64kg Winner V Winner
W69kg Shauna Brogan (Castlebar) V Nadine Dermody (Raging Bull)
69kg Winner V Winner
W75kg Aoibhe Carrabine (Geesala) W/O
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Winner V Winner
W81+kg Naoise Finney (Ballybrack) W/O
91kg Edward McDonagh (Lumpini) V Pierre Stokes (Leo’s)
91+kg Owney McDonagh (St Annes) W/O


logo may

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: