AmateurHeadline News

National U-18 Championships – ENTRY LIST

The Irish Athletic Boxing Association have released the entry lists for the National Under-18 Championships which begin this weekend.

Both the men’s and women’s championships will play out over the next month at the National Stadium, the second all-Ireland competition of the year following the Under-18 Open in January and February.

Twelve of the champions from the Under-18 Open have entered – Jude Gallagher, Brandon McCarthy, Callum Walsh, Edward Donovan, Kane Tucker (who has moved up in weight), Owenie McDonagh, Daina Moorehouse, Caitlin Fryers, Aoibhe Ginty (who has moved down in weight), Evelyn Igharo, and Elice Elliott

The other eight Open champions – Dean Clancy, Alex Higgins, Edward Barrett, Mary Geraghty, Dearbhla Rooney, Lauren Kelly, Sophie Thornton, and Alannah Nolan – are not listed. The release of the entry list yesterday came a couple of hours before the deadline for entries so they may have subsequently entered.

Gallagher, Clancy, Igharo, Kelly, Rooney, and Moorehouse all won European Youth medals in Italy following the Open. The six, alongside Barrett and McCarthy are set to compete in the World Youth Championships in Hungary

Clancy is also qualified for the Youth Olympics in Argentina this October.

First though they will be looking to add another Irish title to their tallies and there are a number of top names coming through that will be looking to claim top prize before moving into the adult ranks including a number of big names listed that did not compete at the start of the year, including the likes of Katelynn Phelan, Aoibhe Carrabine, Marguerita Nevin, and Barry McReynolds.

Boxing begins this Friday at the National Stadium and will run until the last weekend of the month.

The entry list for this month’s tournament can be seen in full below:

49kg – Men’s Light Flyweight
Jude Gallagher (Two Castles)
Ryan Roy (Lisburn)
John Cowman (St Paul’s Waterford)
Adam Hession (Monivea)

52kg – Men’s Flyweight
Michael Agnew (Lisburn)
Danny Duffy (Immaculata Strabane)

56kg – Men’s Bantamweight
Killian Geraghty (Crumlin)
Oisin Lally (Geesala)
Davey Joyce (Holy Family Drogheda)
Paul Loonam (St Carthage’s)
Colm Murphy (St George’s)
Brandon McCarthy (St Michael’s Athy)

60kg – Men’s Lightweight
Trevor Hegarty (Riverstown)
David Oliver Joyce (Ballymun)
Jordan Carragher (Tredagh)
James Power (Legacy)
Gareth Dowling (Dublin Docklands)
James Conroy (Tobair Pheadair)
Jack McGivern (St George’s)
Eddie Corcoran (Cloghan)
Eric Byrne (Sacred Heart Dublin)
Barry McReynolds (Holy Trinity)

64kg – Men’s Light Welterweight
Sean Butler (Riverstown)
Callum Walsh (Riverstown)
Pierce O’Leary (Dublin Docklands)
Jamie Murphy (Ballybrack)

69kg – Men’s Welterweight
Kristian Kowalski (Leo’s)
David McDonagh (Mullingar Elite)
Edward Donovan (OLOL)
Christian Preston (Dublin Docklands)
Gareth Browne (Springtown)
Luke Burke (Grangecon)
Rokas Boltrzakainis (Clane)
Conor Renaghan (Sean Doran’s Keady)

75kg – Men’s Middleweight
Adam Matthews (Monkstown Dublin)
Jake Tucker (Holy Family GG)
Martin Sweeney (Westside)

81kg – Men’s Light Heavyweight
Eghosa Igharo (Clann Naofa)
Jack Lawlor (Thurles)
Kane Tucker (Holy Family GG)

91kg – Men’s Heavyweight
Pierre Stokes (Leo’s)
Francie O’Donnell (Ballymun)
Edward McDonagh (Lumpini)

91+kg – Men’s Super Heavyweight
Owenie McDonagh (St Anne’s)
John Donovan (OLOL)

48kg – Women’s Light Flyweight
Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry)
Ciara Walsh (Smithfield)

51kg – Women’s Flyweight
Caitlin Fryers (Immaculata)
Jessica Clarke (Carndonagh)
Megan Coleman (Baldoyle)

54kg – Women’s Bantamweight
Orinta Ringyte (Riverstown)
Catherine Blaney (Navan)
Courtney McCrudden (Emerald Antrim)
Sophie O’Connor (Jobstown)
Nicole McCabe (O’Hanlon Park

57kg – Women’s Featherweight
Zara Breslin (Tramore)
Aoibhe Ginty (Geesala)

60kg – Women’s Lightweight
Tiffany O’Reilly (Curragh)
Shauna O’Callaghan (Clann Naofa)
Margeurita Nevin (St Brigids Kildare)
Carmen Mavrodin (Baldoyle)

64kg – Women’s Light Welterweight
Evelyn Igharo (Clann Naofa)
Katelynn Phelan (St Brigids Kildare)

69kg – Women’s Welterweight
Bobbie Hendrick (Sacre Coeur)
Elice Elliott (South Meath)
Caoimhe McHugh (Clane)
Nadine Dermosy (Raging Bull)
Shauna Brogan (Castlebar)

75kg – Women’s Middleweight
Aoibhe Carrabine (Geelsala)

81kg – Women’s Light Heavyweight
Naoise Finney (Ballybrack)

81+kg – Women’s Heavyweight
No entries


logo may

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: