AmateurHeadline News

National Elite Senior Championships 2019 – FULL DRAW

The draw has been made for the National Elite Championships which begin tonight in Dublin.

There were a handful of late additions following today’s weigh-in including Commonwealth silver medallist Aidan Walsh and super heavy Stephen McMonagle and a few drop-outs such as heavyweight Kevin Sheehy and light welter Pierce O’Leary, while a number of fighters have shifted from the weight that they declared.

Another big change is that the finals will take place on SATURDAY FEBRUARY 23rd rather than the Friday as previously advised.

First bell tonight is at 7:00pm, with Aidan Walsh v Eugene McKeever, the two most recent Ulster welterweight champions, being the pick of the bouts.

Friday February 8th
63kg Senan Kelly (Crumlin) v James McGivern (St George’s)
63kg Stephen Lockhart (Baldoyle) v Gerard Matthews (St Paul’s A)
63kg Kenneth Doyle (Monkstown D) v Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin)
63kg Dylan Duffy (Pegasus) v Matthew McCole (Dungloe)
63kg Michael Avetisian (Swords) v Terry McEntee (DCU Athletic/Old School)
69kg Aaron Daly (Castlebar) v Fergal Redmond (Arklow)
69kg Aidan Walsh (Monkstown Antrim) v Eugene McKeever (Holy Family D)
91kg+ Denis Borskins (Sacred Heart Newry) v Tommy Sheahan (St Michael’s K)
91kg+ James Clarke (Crumlin) v Stephen McMonagle (Antrim)
Quarter Finals
57kg Conor Kerr (Monkstown A) v Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise)
57kg Tommy Casey (St Francis’s) v Adam Courtney (St Mary’s D)

Saturday February 9th
63kg Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise) v Winner
63kg Winner v Winner
63kg George Bates (St Mary’s D) v Winner
63kg Keith Flavin (Paulstown) v Winner
69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard) v Winner
69kg Michael McGrane (Crumlin) v Luke Maguire (Esker)
69kg Paddy Donovan (OLOL) v Conor Ivors (St Francis’s)
69kg Dean Walsh v Winner
75kg Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) v Gabriel Dossen (Olympic)
75kg Kelyn Cassidy (Saviours Crystal) v Blue McGinty (Oakleaf)
75kg Fearghus Quinn (Camlough) v Gerard French (Clonard)
75kg Tony McGlynn (Crumlin) Emmett Brennan (Glasnevin)
81kg David Bicevis (Saviours) v Robbie Burke (Glasnevin)
91kg Tony Browne (St Michael’s D) v Liam Greene (South Meath)
91kg Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone) v Danny O’Brien (Santry)
91kg Geoff Kavanagh (St Michael’s D) v Karol Dlugosz (Scorpion)
+91kg Dean Gardiner (Clonmel) v Winner
+91kg Dean Scullion (Loughshore) v Thomas Carthy (Crumlin)
+91kg Gytis Lisinskas (Celtic Eagles) v Antoine Griffin (Celtic Eagles)
+91kg Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) v Winner

Friday February 15th
Semi Finals
49kg Sean Mari (Monkstown) v Rory Baird (Ederney)
52kg Adam Hession (Monivea) v Ricky Nesbitt (Holy Family D)
57kg Myles Casey (St Francis) v Winner
57kg Paddy Adamus (Drimnagh) v Winner
60kg David Oliver Joyce (Ballymun) v Shane Flavin (Paulstown)
57kg Mary Geraghty (St Anthony’s) v Dervla Duffy (Crumlin)
64kg Shauna O’Callaghan (Clann Naofa) v Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan)
69kg Christina Desmond (Fr Horgan’s) v Tina Donnelly (Docklands)
69kg Gillian Duffy (St Mary’s D) v Grainne Walsh (Sparticus)
Quarter Finals
48kg Chloe Fleck (Canal) v Carol Coughlan (Monkstown)
48kg Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) v Donna Barr (Illies GG)

Saturday February 16th
Semi Finals
63kg Winner v Winner
63kg Winner v Winner
69kg Winner v Winner
69kg Winner v Winner
75kg Winner v Winner
75kg Winner v Winner
81kg Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles) v Winner
81kg Paul McCullagh (St John Bosco) v Tommy Hyde (Mayfield)
91kg Kirill Afanasev (Smithfield) v Winner
91kg Winner v Winner
+91kg Winner v Winner
+91kg Winner v Winner
48kg Courtney Daly (Crumlin) v Winner
48kg Emma Feeney (Virginia) v Winner

Saturday February 23rd
49kg Regan Buckley v Winner
52kg Evan Metcalfe (Hyland BA) v Winner
57kg Winner v Winner
60kg Winner v Winner
63kg Winner v Winner
69kg Winner v Winner
75kg Winner v Winner
81kg Winner v Winner
91kg Winner v Winner
91kg Winner v Winner
51kg Carly McNaul (Holy Family) v Niamh Earley (Ryston)
54kg Emma Flannery W/O
57kg Michaela Walsh (Monkstown A) v Winner
60kg Kelly Harrington (St Mary’s D) W/O
48kg Winner v Winner
64kg Moira McElligott (St Michael’s K) v Winner
69kg Winner v Winner
75kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea) v Cheyanne O’Neill (Athlone)
80kg Leona Houlihan (Crumlin) v Lisa Browne (Aglish)
+81kg Nell Fox (Rathkeale) W/O


logo may

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: