AmateurHeadline News

National Senior [Intermediate] semi-final results

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is liffey-crane-hire-1.jpg

22 National Senior [Intermediate] semi-finals were decided over the weekend, setting up 18 title deciders in the process.

Former European Junior and Youth champion Daina Moorehouse advanced at the expense of Ciara Walsh  and  Brandon McCarthy, also a European medalist, beat Killian Geraghty on a 4-1 split in a cracking lightweight bout.

Daniel O’Sullivan, trainer at Celtic Warriors, also made it through to next week’s middleweight final while Galway’s Martin Sammon set up a welter decider with Matthew McCole.

Donegal’s Illies BC, courtesy of Caroline Gallagher and McCole, will be aiming for double gold next weekend, while Jason Harty – whose Rathkeale BC team-mate Martin Mongans also won this evening –  beat Shane O’Brien in a Limerick derby.

Next Friday’s finals begin at 6.30pm.

National Men’s and Women’s Senior Championships National Stadium Dublin

Friday, November 1

S/Finals (6pm)

48kg Daina Moorehouse (Enniskerry) beat Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) 5-0
52kg Nathan Horrigan (Hyland Academy) beat Jason Smith (Fr Flanagans) 5-0
52kg Sean Kavanagh (Monkstown D) beat John Cowman (St Paul’s W) 5-0
57kg Kelsey Leonard (Curragh) W/O
57kg Kellie McLoughlan (Drimnagh) W/O
56kg Jamie Griffin (Riverstown) W/O
60kg Renee Roach (DCU) W/O
60kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels) beat Killian Geraghty (Crumlin) 4-1
60kg Teo Alin (Cookstown) beat Jack McGivern (St Georges) 4-1
64kg Cameron Bennett (Swords) beat Michael O’Donnell (Celtic Eagles) 5-0
64kg Caoimhin Ferguson (Emerald) beat Evan Fitzgerald (Esker) 5-0
69kg Caroline Gallagher (Illies GG) beat Karolina Jaglowska (Celtic Eagles) 5-0
69kg Martin Sammon (Olympic G) beat Matthew McDonagh (Geesala) 5-0
69kg Matthew McCole (Illies GG) beat Sean Butler (Riverstown) 5-0
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) beat Shane O’Brien (St Francis) 5-0
75kg Daniel O’Sullivan (Lucan) beat Oran Shields (Illies GG) 4-1
81kg Thomas Myers (Sligo City) beat Folan Rahill (DCU) 4-1
81kg Sean Crowley (Arklow) beat Daniel Houlihan (Kilcullen) 5-0
91kg Martin Mongans (Rathkeale) beat  Michel Rudolf (Crumlin) AB1
91kg Thomas Maughan (Cavan) beat Marcin Skalski (Athlone) 4-1
91+kg Martin Mongan (Corpus Christi) beat  Patrick Lavery (Tredagh) 5-0
91+kg Ciaran O Griofa (Celtic Eagles) beat Patrick Rogers (St Johns Derry) 3-2

Leinster Final

75kg John Joe Nevin (Crumlin) beat Jack Brady (Crumlin) 5-0


October 25


64kg Michael O’Donnell (Celtic Eagles) W/O
64kg Cameron Bennett (Swords) beat Derek Murray (Muskerry) 3-2
64kg Caoimhin Ferguson (Emerald) W/O
64kg Evan Fitzgerald (Esker) beat Gavin Bradshaw (Drimnagh) 3-2
69kg Martin Sammon (Olympic G) beat Senan Dwyer (Crumlin) 4-1
69kg Matthew McDonagh (Geesala) W/O
69kg Matthew McCole (Illies GG) beat Conor Reneghan (Keady) 5-0
69kg Sean Butler (Riverstown) beat Antoine Manin (Celtic Eagles) 5-0
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) W/O
75kg Shane O’Brien (St Francis) W/O
75kg Daniel O’Sullivan (Lucan) beat Martin Sweeney (St Catherines) 4-1
75kg Oran Shields (Illies GG) beat Rokas Balrukoni (Clane) 3-2
81kg Thomas Myers (Sligo City) beat Adam Mooney (St Marys Daingean) 5-0
81kg Sean Crowley (Arklow) beat Philip Hickey (Paulstown) 5-0
81kg Daniel Houlihan (Kilcullen) beat Conor Tighe (Ballinacarrow) 5-0
91kg Martin Mongans (Rathkeale) beat Brian Mullen (St Annes) 4-1
91kg Michel Rudolf (Crumlin) W/O
91kg Marcin Skalski (Athlone) W/O
91kg Thomas Maughan (Cavan) beat Shane Cunningham (Fr Horgans) 4-1

October 19


64kg Cameron Bennett (Swords) beat Aaron O’Donohue (Fr Horgans) 5-0
64kg Derek Murray (Muskerry) beat Jordan Morrissey (Athlone) 5-0
64kg Caoimhin Ferguson (Emerald) beat Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin) 4-1
64kg Callum Walsh (Riverstown) beat Ryan McCarthy (Togher) 5-0
64kg Evan Fitzgerald (Esker) W/O
64kg Gavin Bradshaw (Drimnagh) beat Daniel McCarthy (Crumlin) 4-1
69kg Matthew McCole (Illies GG) beat Christian Preston (Docklands) 5-0
69kg Conor Reneghan (Keady) beat Brandon Mulligan (Clann Naofa) 5-0
69kg Sean Butler (Riverstown) beat Jack Prenderville (St Saviours OBA) RSC3
69kg Antoine Manin (Celtic Eagles) beat Darren Shannen (Muskerry) 5-0
75kg Jason Harty (Rathkeale) beat Michael Kinsella (St Anthonys) 4-1
75kg John Joe Nevin (Crumlin) beat Jack Brady (Crumlin) 5-0
75kg Shane O’Brien (St Francis) beat Jack Lawlor (Templemore) 3-2
75kg Daniel O’Sullivan (Lucan) beat Shane Dooley (St Ibars/Josephs) 3-2
75kg Martin Sweeney (St Catherines) beat Owen Bergin (Portlaoise) 4-1
75kg Oran Shields (Illies GG) beat Adam Farrell (Fr Flanagans) 3-2
75kg Rokas Balrukoni (Clane) W/O
81kg Faolan Rahill (DCU) beat Jordan Donoghue (Drimnagh) 5-0
91kg Marcin Skalski (Athlone) beat Michael McConigley (Illies GG) 4-1
91kg Shane Cunningham (Fr Horgans) W/O
91kg Thomas Maughan (Cavan) beat Eamon Tighe (Ballinacarrow) 5-0


52kg Sean Kavanagh (Monkstown D) W/O
52kg John Cowman (St Paul’s W) beat Ben Nelson (Townland) 5-0
57kg Jennifer Lehan (DCU) W/O
57kg Kellie McLoughlin (Drimnagh) beat Catherine Blaney (Navan) 5-0
60kg Brandon McCarthy (St Michaels Athy) beat John Paul Hale (Star) 5-0
60kg Teo Alin (Cookstown) beat Martin Noonan (Riverstown) 5-0
60kg Jack McGivern (St Georges) beat Andrei Alexander (Crumlin) 5-0


Jonny Stapleton contributor for 15 years and editor for the past decade. Have been covering boxing for over 16 years and writing about sports for a living for over 20 years. Former Assistant Sports editor for the Gazette News Paper Group and former Tallaght Voice Sports Editor. Have had work published in publications around the world when working as a freelance journalist. Also co-founder of Junior Sports Media and Leinster Rugby PRO of the Year winner. email: