London 2012 Olympian Adam Nolan moved to within two wins of winning his fourth Irish Elite title at the National Stadium in Dublin tonight.

The Bray BC southpaw TKO’d Waterford welterweight Craig McCarthy in the first round at the South Circular Road venue.

Beijing 2008 Olympian John Joe Joyce also advanced, while 2011 European Elite champion Ray Moylette beat Jason Conroy to set up a last-four clash with his great rival Ross Hickey, who also won this evening.

“It wasn’t easy on the eye, but we’re here to get a job done and I’m glad to get the win under my belt, “ said Moylette, a gold medallist at the 2008 World Youth Championships in Mexico.

Moira McElligot got the 2015 Championships underway with unanimous decision over Cheyanne O’Neill, while AIBA World Youth bronze medallist Kurt Walker beat Gary McKenna.

Patrick Mongan was involved in a cracking bout with Belfast ace Benaldo Marime, the Galway light-welter progressing on a split decision.

Conor Coyle edged out Emmet Brennan and Stephen McMonagle beat Andrew Hanley to deny the Bray BC an opening night double. Big Ken Okungbowa beat Bernard O’Reilly on a unanimous decision in the final bout of the session.

The Championships resume next Friday evening. A further session will be held on Saturday week. All semi-finals will be decided next weekend.



2015 National Elite Championships National Stadium Dublin

January 9th Q/Finals (7pm)

57kg Moira McElligot (Rathkeale) beat Cheyanne O’Neill (Athlone) 2-0

56kg Kurt Walker (Canal) beat Gary McKenna (Old School) 3-0

56kg Sean Higginson (St John Bosco) beat Jason Kirwan (Ballagh) 3-0

64kg Patrick Mongan (Olympic) beat Benaldo Marime (Holy Trinity) 2-1

64kg Ray Moylette (St Annes) beat Jason Conroy (Crumlin) 3-0

64kg Ross Hickey (Grancecon/ Def/Force) beat Niall Murray (Gorey) 3-0

69kg John Joe Joyce (St Michaels Athy) beat Fergal Redmond (Arklow) 3-0

69kg Wayne Kelly (Mullingar) beat Lee Sherlock (Corpus Christi) 3-0

69kg Bernard Roe (Dublin Docklands) beat Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) 2-1

69kg Adam Nolan (Bray) beat Craig McCarthy (St Pauls Waterford) TKO1

75kg Conor Coyle (St Josephs Derry) beat Emmet Brennan (Corinthians) 2-1

75kg Caoimhin Hynes (Holy Trinity) beat Glory Lmuala (Maynooth) 3-0

81kg Chris Blaney (Navan) beat Anthony Browne (St Michaels) 2-1

91kg John Joe McDonagh (Crumlin) beat Patrick O’Shea (St Colmans) 3-0

91kg Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity) beat Andrew Hanley (Bray) TKOI3 (3-0)

91kg Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone) beat Bernard O’Reilly (Portlaoise) 3-0


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years