King of Europe – Tadgh O’Donnell wins Euro Junior gold

The Prince of Four Kings Tadhg O’Donnell is the king of Europe.

The Greystones talent claimed European Junior Championship gold in Italy today, striding confidently onto the top of the podium in his first ever International competition.

O’Donnell won the 66kg final and claimed precious gold by beating Poland’s Pawel Fabian Urbanksk in Italy. The emerging talent won every round on every card against his fellow underage prospect to double Ireland’s gold tally from the under-17 tournament.

Indeed, the manner the 30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27, 30-27 win may put the Wicklow man, who has emerged as one for the future over the past week in Italy, in Boxer of the tournament frame.

O’Donnell dominated from start to finish. He was evasive, strong, and extremely confident as he strolled to the top of the European pile.

The win was Ireland’s last in this year’s European Junior installment and it ensure a second gold for the Team.

Eva Henry finished top of the female lightweight pile with victory over another Pole early in the day. There was no golden moment for the four other finalists but there is a silver lining for Jaime Collins, Mary McDonagh, Niamh Keogh, and Grace Conway.

Team Ireland Squad

Male Boxers:

1. 44-46kg Alfie Jordan (Olympic L)

2. 48kg Jamie Collins (Drimnagh)

3. 50kg Calvin Doyle (Olympic L)

4. 52kg Johnny Harty (Portlaoise)

5. 54kg James Kelly (Holy Trinity)

6. 57kg Callum Carrager (Tredagh)

7. 60kg Ryan Jenkins (Olympic L)

8. 63kg Cillian Reilly (Jobstown)

9. 66kg Tadhg O’Donnell (Four Kings)

10. 70kg Charlie Valbergs (Cherry Orchard). Team Captain

11. 75kg Dylan McShane (St Pauls A)

12. 80kg Jack Teggart Weatherall (St Pauls A)

13. 80+kg Adam Olaniyan (Jobstown)

Female Boxers

1. 44-46kg Sophie Curley Gray (Dealgan)

2. 50kg Grace Conway (Tredagh)

3. 52kg Carlagh Peake (Ballyhaunis)

4. 54kg Niamh Keogh (Olympic L)

5. 57kg Siofra Lawless (Liberty)

6. 60kg Ava Henry (Docklands) Team Captain,

7. 63kg Kayleigh Whelan (Avona)

8. 66kg Sarah Murphy (St Brigids L)

9. 70kg Jodie Byrne (St Teresa’s)

10. 75kg Mary McDonagh (Sliabh Luachra)

11. 80kg Shauna Crehan (Dunboyne)

Team Manager

Martin Fennessy


1. Ralph McKay

2. Liam Cunningham

3. Paul O’Toole

4. Linda Morgan


Philip Hollowed


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years