Joyce and Ward beat World No 3 and No 1 claim Chemistry Cup gold

David Oliver Joyce stunned Kazakhstan’s Berik Abdrakhmanov – an AIBA World No.3 ranked lightweight – to claim gold at the 41st Chemistry Cup in Germany this evening.

And Joe Ward followed that up with a gold medal win over Abdrakhmanov’s compatriot Adilbek Niyazymbetov, who is ranked No. 1 in the World
Joyce, the current Irish Elite champion, hammered out a unanimous decision over the 2013 World Elite Championships bronze medallist in Halle.
Abdrakhmanov, the reigning Asian champion, started well in this contest, but once five-time Irish Elite champion Joyce got into his stride there was only going to be one winner.
“David was absolutely outstanding against a world class opponent. He’s been outstanding over his three bouts here this week. I can’t speak highly enough of him” said Irish head coach Billy Walsh.
Ward claimed his second Chemistry Cup gold medal since 2012 on the back of a controlled and clinical display against Niyazymbetov, who claimed silver at the London Olympics and silver at the 2013 AIBA World Elite Championships in Kazakhstan. The judges handed it to the four-time Irish Elite champion on a unanimous decision.
“It was a class performance from Joe against the number one light-heavyweight in the world, added Billy Walsh.
“Joe never gave him the chance to settle. He used his jab very well and followed the tactics to perfection.We’re delighted with the three medals considering the quality of opposition here.”
Stephen Donnelly won bronze in Halle. The haul looks likely to be enough to see Ireland finish in a top three position in the medals table.
The Irish squad are due home via Dublin Airport at 12pm tomorrow.
41st Chemistry Cup Halle, Germany
May 28th
Last 16
64kg Dean Walsh (Ireland) lost to Sam Maxwell (England) -0-3
69kg Stephen Donnelly (Ireland) beat Simeon Chamov (Bulgaria) TKOI1
75kg Michael O’Reilly (Ireland) beat Amir Orfia (Switzerland) 3-0
May 29th Q/Finals
49kg Hugh Myers (Ireland) lost to Temirtas Zhussupov (Kazakhstan) 0-3
52kg Chris Phelan (Ireland) lost to Ronny Beblik (Germany) 0-3
56kg Kurt Walker (Ireland) lost to Enrico la Cruz (Netherlands) 1-2
60kg David Oliver Joyce (Ireland) beat Donato Cosenza (Italy) TKO2
69kg Stephen Donnelly (Ireland) beat Ekow Essumen (England) 2-1
75kg Michel O’Reilly (Ireland) lost to Anthony Fowler (England) 0-2
81kg Joe Ward (Ireland) beat Pavel Silyagin (Russia) 3-0
91kg Gary Sweeney (Ireland) lost to Ablon Pervizj (Germany) 0-3
91+kg Dean Gardiner (Ireland) lost to Joe Joyce (England) 1-2

May 30th S/Finals
60kg David Oliver Joyce (Ireland) beat Elian Dimitrov (Bulgaria) 3-0
69kg Stephen Donnelly (Ireland) lost to Abass Baraou (Germany) 1-2
81kg Joe Ward (Ireland) beat Igor Teziev (Germany) 3-0
May 31st
60kg David Oliver Joyce (Ireland) beat Berik Abdrakhmanov (Kazakhstan) 3-0
81kg Joe Ward (Ireland) beat Adilbek Niyazymbetov (Kazakhstan) 3-0

Irish Squad

49kg Hughie Myers (Ryson)
52kg Chris Phelan (Ryson)
56kg Kurt Walker (Canal)
60kg David Oliver Joyce (St Michaels Athy) (Gold)
64kg Dean Walsh (St Josephs/St Ibars)
69kg Stephen Donnelly (All Saints) (Bronze)
75kg Michael O’Reilly (Portlaoise)
81kg Joe Ward (Moate) (Gold)
91kg Gary Sweeney (Olympic)
91+kg Dean Gardiner (Clonmel)

Team manager: Jim Walsh
Coaches: Billy Walsh, Zuar Antia, Eddie Bolger
R&J: Sadie Duffy
Physio: Julianne Ryan


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years