AmateurHeadline News

European Schoolboys/girls Championships – FULL DRAW + DAY 1 RESULTS

Ireland had three fighters in action today on the opening day of the European Schoolboy/girls Championships in Bulgaria today.

The draw was made this morning with Katie O’Keefe, Winnie Christina McDonagh, Dearbhla Tinnelly, and Nasya McJin-Igelige being guaranteed bronze medals without throwing a punch and will box in the semi-finals on Saturday.

In the ring, Michael Connors and James Donovan advanced to the last-eight but Lauren Moran bowed out.

Moran was involved in a toe-to-toe battle with Amy Briggs, the Mayo lightweight producing a massive performance in one of the bouts of the day –  but the English fighter edged the three-rounder on a 3-2 split.

Similarly, Michael Connors pulled out all the stops to see off Lithuania’s Nedas Grigorianas in the light-fly class while James Donovan showed his class to force Hungary’s Krisztian Balagh into a standing count in the first round en-route to victory.

Six Irish boxers are in action at the 27-nation tournament tomorrow, five in the Last 16s and Martin McDonagh in the quarter finals.

A further 14 fighters are just one win from guaranteeing a bronze.

European Schoolboy & Schoolgirl Championships Albena, Bulgaria May 21/30
May 22nd
Last 16
60kg Lauren Moran (Ireland) lost to Abby Briggs (England) 2-3
48kg Michael Connors (Ireland) beat Nedas Grigorianas (Lithuania) 3-2
50kg James Donovan (Ireland) beat Krisztian Balagh (Hungary) 4-1

May 23rd
Last 16
41.5kg William Faulkner (Ireland) v Georgis Georgantzas (Greece)
46kg Cale Brennan (Ireland) v Denys Rosdolskyi (Ukraine)
52kg Brannon McMahon (Ireland) v Volodymyr Kamaieve (Ukraine)
54kg John Fay (Ireland) v Dovydas Paskevicius (LIthuania)
59kg Thomas McAleer (Ireland) v Savelii Suprunets (Ukraine)

91kg Martin McDonagh (Ireland) v Kyrylo Novika (Ukraine)

May 24th
Last 16
38.5kg Martin Collins (Ireland) v Anton Salika (Belarus)
40kg Michael Faulkner (Ireland) v Gicha Gordulava (Georgia)
43kg Jason Nevin (Ireland) v  Serghei Nova (Moldova)
44.5kg Conor Donovan (Ireland) v Dominik Mucska (Hungary)
56kg James McGuinness (Ireland) v Iskren Mihaylov (Bulgaria)
68kg Feidhlim Behan (Ireland) v Tymofii Krupko (Ukraine)

39kg Sophie Elstone (Ireland) v Polina Spirna (Russia)
42kg Nora Jackman (Ireland) v Viktoria Danielova (Slovakia)
45kg Robyn Kelly (Ireland) v Lyuba Atanasova (Bulgaria)
48kg Robyn Murran (Ireland) v Izabella Devenyi (Hungary)
51kg Labhaoise Glynn (Ireland) v Francesca Falconeri (Italy)
54kg Yasmin Meredith (Ireland) v Sophia Mazzoni (Italy)
57kg Kaci Crowley (Ireland) v Lucia Simulescu (Romania)

May 25th
48kg Michael Connors (Ireland) v aider Abduraimov (Ukraine) or Yadim Ustonov (Moldova)
50kg James Donovan (Ireland) v Dimtry Daitbehau (Belarus) or Dzhem Demirev (Bulgaria)
62kg Ryan Murphy (Ireland) v Armenia or Ukraine
65kg Joe Hutchinson (Ireland) v Irakli Janelidze (Georgia)
72kg Tyler Meade (Ireland) v Milon Tibic (Serbia)
76kg Curtis Darcy (Ireland) v Malyas Nagyos (Romania)
80kg Patrick McDonagh (Ireland) v Oleg Ilchenko (Ukraine)

May 26th
36kg Katie O’Keeffe (Ireland) v Renata Mingalimova (Russia)
63kg Winnie Christina McDonagh (Ireland) v Sunniva Hofstad (Norway)
67kg Dearbhla Tinnelly (Ireland) v Alena Krinichnaia (Russia)
70kg Nasya McJin-Igelige (Ireland) v Karine Araptican (Ukraine)

Irish squad
36kg Katie O’Keeffe (Kanturk)
38.5kg Martin Collins (Drimnagh)
39kg Sophia Elstone (Ardnaree)
40kg Michael Faulkner (Northside)
41.5kg William Faulkner (Rathkeale)
42kg Nora Jackman (Paulstown)
43kg Jason Nevin (Olympic Mullingar)
44.5kg Conor Donovan (Clonmel)
45kg Robyn Kelly (Ballynacargy) (Captain)
46kg Cale Brennan (St Michael’s Athy) (Captain)
48kg Robyn Murran (St Brigid’s Kildare)
48kg Michael Connors (St Mary’s Dublin)
50kg James Donovan (O.L.O.L.)
51kg Labhaoise Glynn (Cloghan)
52kg Brannon Lyttle (Carrickmore)
54kg Yasmin Meredith (Glasnevin)
54kg John Fay (Swords)
56kg James McGuinness (St Monica’s)
57kg Kaci Crowley (Erne)
59kg Thomas McAleer (Swords)
60kg Laura Moran (St Anne’s)
62kg Ryan Murphy (Neilstown)
63kg Winnie Christina McDonagh (Neilstown)
65kg Joe Hutchinson (Neilstown)
67kg Dearbhla Tinnelly (Clann Naofa)
68kg Feidhlim Behan (Kilcullen)
70kg Nasya McJin-Igelige (Clann Naofa)
72kg Tyler Meade (Kilnamanagh)
76kg Curtis Darcy (Callan)
80kg Patrick McDonagh (St Joseph’s)
91kg Martin McDonagh (Ballyhaunis)

IABA President: Dominic O’Rouke
Team Managers: Martin Fennessey and Jennifer O’Sullivan
Coaches: Liam Brereton, Jim O’Neill, Eva Carr, John Gallagher, Tom Hayes
R&J: Brian Wallace


logo may

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: