AmateurHeadline News


NINE champions were crowned at the National Elite Women’s finals at the National Stadium in Dublin tonight.

Lauren Hogan had her hand raised in victory following a hard-fought win over Maeve Clarke in the light-fly class, while Ceire Smith, the defending flyweight champion, beat EU Youth gold medallist Kristina O’Hara.

“We’re absolutely over the moon, said coach Liam Brereton. “Lauren is still only eighteen and she’s already won an U/18 title and a European Youth bronze medal and now a Senior title, absolutely brilliant.”

Joanne Lambe, who reached the last 16 at the World Championships in 2014, was looking to retain her featherweight crown, but was stopped by Dervla Duffy in the fourth round. Duffy knocked the defending champion out with a clean right/left combo in the final frame.

Meanwhile, Debbie O’Reilly secured the vacant lightweight belt on a unanimous decision over Louise Donohue. Olympic champion Katie Taylor was the defending lightweight champion but had to withdraw because of a hand injury. Kelly Harrington retained the light-welter belt at the expense of Clare’s Kayleigh Murrihy.

Defending welterweight champion Claire Grace also emerged victorious. The AIBA World No. 8 and Europeaan Elite bronze medallist beat 18-year-old Youth Olympian Christina Desmond, a silver medallist at the 2013 World Youths, on a split decision.

Dionna Cambell also scored a split decision, the Garda BC ace taking two of the judges with her in her victory over defending 81kg+ champion Fionna Nelson in the final bout of the 2015 National Male and Female Elite Championships.

Former Minister Éamon Ó Cuív TD and Deputy Lord Mayor of Dublin, Cllr. Nial Ring, were guests of the IABA at tonight’s finals.

Irish women’s boxing is proudly sponsored by QuickPark of Dublin Airport.

2015 Elite Female Finals January 24th

48kg Lauren Hogan (St Brigids, Offaly) beat Maeve Clarke (Ballinacarrow) 3-0

51kg Ceire Smith (Cavan) beat Kristina O’Hara (Emerald) 3-0

54kg Michaela Walsh (Holy Family) W/O

57kg Dervla Duffy (St Brigids, Kildare) beat Joanne Lambe (Carrickmacross) KO4

60kg Debbie O’Reilly (Olympic) beat Louise Donohue (Geesala) 3-0

64kg Kelly Harrington (St Margarets) beat Kayleigh Murrihy (Kilfenora) 3-0

69kg Claire Grace (Callan) beat Christina Desmond (Macroom) 2-1

75kg Laoise Traynor (Bray) W/O

81+kg Diana Campbell (Garda) beat Fionna Nelson (City of Belfast) 2-1


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years