Egan through to the final-Semi Final round up

Ken Egan will meet Joe Ward in next  Friday’s Irish Daily Star sponsored Irish Elite Championships light-heavyweight  final.
Egan set up the “battle of the southpaws”  after Eamon Walsh retired in round two of last  night’s semi-final at the National Stadium in Dublin with a facial  injury.
Egan was 17-4 ahead and had forced Walsh  into standing counts in round one and two before the three-rounder was  stopped.
The February 3rd clash with Ward will be a  repeat of the 2011 Elite final which Ward won, a victory which denied Egan his  11th straight Irish title.
Saturday’s semi-finals also  saw Chris Phelan become the second Ryston BC boxer to make next  weekend’s deciders following a commanding 26-13 victory  over Ruairi Dalton.
Phelan edged the first round of this clash  6-5, but some slick counter-punching saw him run away with the  second and  open up a 17-8 advantage.
Michael Nevin will face John Joe Nevin in  the bantamweight final following a 15-10 win over Glen  Murray.
The first round of the Eric Donovan versus  David Oliver Joyce all St Michael’s Athy clash finished tied at 3-3, Joyce doing  the stalking, Donovan picking up points on the  counter.
Joyce switched tactics to throwing  clusters of body punches in the second and opened up an 11-7  lead at the bell before winning the third round  5-4 to secure a 16-11 decision.
He’ll now meet Michael McDonagh in a  rematch of the 2011 lightweight final which McDonagh won.
“I am not looking past McDonagh. He beat me  last year.  Back to the club for the week and learn how to fight this lad.  He is a different style of boxer but I’ll worry about that on Monday,” said  Joyce after his win.
Martin Wall, meanwhile, took a count in the  third against Stephen Coughlan, who booked his place into the 64Kg final with a  16-11 verdict.
Ceire Smith took the early route to victory  in the first of Saturday’s women’s finals to claim her second Irish  title.
The Cavan BC flyweight had her hand  raised in victory after Emma Duffy retired in round one after taking a second  standing count and suffering a shoulder injury.
Michelle Chambers took a standing count in  the second frame of her all-Mayo bantamweight final with Michelle Lynch,  who held a 9-3 advantage going into the fourth before securing  a 12-3  win.
Claire Grace claimed the welterweight title  with a 15-8 decision over Patricia Roddy.
Meanwhile, Christy Joyce ensured that the  St Michael’s Athy club will have three boxers in next weekend’s finals with  an 11-5 verdict over Patrick Corcoran.
Beijing Olympian John Joe Joyce beat Roy  Sheahan in the second all-St Michael’s Athy duel of the evening, and Conor Coyle  had three points to spare over Michael Reilly.
Dublin’s Sean Turner posted the final win  of the evening, a 20-12 decision over David Joyce booking his place into the  super-heavyweight final.
The 2012 Elite National Senior  Championships finals will be held on Friday, February 3rd at the National  Stadium.
2012 Elite Championships National Stadium  Dublin
January 28th  Women’s Finals/Men’s  S/Finals
51Kg: Ceire Smith  (Cavan) beat Emma Duffy (Crumlin) RET1
54Kg: Michelle Lynch (Golden Gloves) beat  Michelle Chamber (Castlebar) 12-3
60Kg: Carla Wright (Gleann)  W/O
64Kg: Sarah Close (Holy Family GG)  W/O
69Kg: Claire Grace (Callan) beat Patricia Roddy (Bray)  14-8
75Kg: Sinead Kavanagh (Drimnagh)  W/O
81Kg: Lauragh O’Neill (Paulstown)  W/O

52Kg: Chris Phelan  (Ryston) beat Ruairi Dalton (Holy Trinity)  2
56Kg:  Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) beat Glenn Murray (Corinthians) 15-10
60Kg:  David Oliver Joyce (St Michael’s Athy) beat Eric Donovan (St Michael’s Athy)  16-11
64Kg: Stephen Coughlan (Bray) beat Martin Wall (Crumlin)  16-11
69Kg: John Joe Joyce (St Michael’s Athy) beat Roy Sheahan (St   Michael’s Athy) 15-9
75Kg: Conor Coyle (St Jospehs) beat Michael  Reilly (Holy Family) 12-9
81Kg: Ken Egan (Neilstown) beat Eamon Walsh  (St Annes) RSCI2
91Kg: Christy Joyce (St Michael’s Athy)  beat Patrick Corcoran (Crumlin) 11-5
91+Kg: Sean Turner (Drimnagh) beat  David Joyce (Moate) 20-12
January 27th S/Finals
49Kg: Hugh Myres (Ryston) beat  Evan Metcalfe (Crumlin) 23-15
52Kg: Michael Conlan (St John  Bosco) beat Shane Roche (Corinthians) 28-12
56Kg: John Joe Nevin (Cavan) beat  Sean McComb (Holy Trinity) 13-12
60Kg: Michael McDonagh (St  Marys) beat Tyrone McCullagh (Holy Family GG)  11-5
64Kg: Ross Hickey (Grangecon) beat  Niall Murray (Gorey) 15-12
69Kg: Adam Nolan (Bray) beat  Willie McLaughlin (Illies GG) 17-12
75Kg: Darren O’Neill  (Paulstown) beat Conrad Cummings (Holy Trinity)  13-10
81Kg: Joe Ward (Moate) beat   David Joe Joyce (Ballinacargy) 17-4
91Kg: Tommy McCarthy (Oliver  Plunkett) beat  Stephen Ward (Monkstown)  16-11
91+Kg: Con Sheehan (Clonmel) beat   Ken Okungbowa (Moate) 17-8

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 + eighteen =