AmateurHeadline News

Team of the Tournament – Ireland impress in Eindhoven Cup

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is liffey-crane-hire-1.jpg

Team Ireland were awarded Team of the Tournament after an impressive Eindhoven BoxCup innings.

Ireland collected five gold on the final day of the Netherlands based competition with three fighters having to settle for silver.

National Elite Senior welterweight champion Kieran Molloy, who beat England’s Harvey Lambert en route to the decider, was one of the gold medal winners.

The Oughterard BC fighter beat beat Thailand’s Peerapat Yeasungnoen to claim gold.

Grainne Walsh of Spartacus BC also claimed 69kg gold with a win over France’s Fanny Galle in Sunday’s 69kg finals.

Walsh said she was thrilled to win three on the bounce since Friday, while Molloy was in the running for one of the Best Boxers Awards after a cracking decider with  Yeasungnoen.

Christian Cekiso of Portlaoise BC, Sara Joo of St Brigid’s BC, Edenderry and Sean Purcell Enniskerry BC also won gold on Sunday to complete a high-five for Ireland’s clubs.

Thomas Carthy, Kelyn Cassidy and Ryan O’Rourke took home silver.

Please click here for tournament site and here for result

Meanwhile Danny O’Brien took the early route to victory at the World Military Games in Wuhan, China today.

The Irish Senior champion knocked out French heavyweight Michel Gava 21 seconds into the first round to advance to the last 16.

O’Brien will now meet Finland’s Krenar Aliu tomorrow.

Leona Houlihan boxes for at least bronze on Tuesday and Brian Kennedy and Antoine O Griofa are also in action.


Jonny Stapleton contributor for 15 years and editor for the past decade. Have been covering boxing for over 16 years and writing about sports for a living for over 20 years. Former Assistant Sports editor for the Gazette News Paper Group and former Tallaght Voice Sports Editor. Have had work published in publications around the world when working as a freelance journalist. Also co-founder of Junior Sports Media and Leinster Rugby PRO of the Year winner. email: