VIDEO: The illegal punch that all the fuss is about

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is liffey-crane-hire-1.jpg

Julio Cesar caused the big shock of a busy weekend for Irish boxing two weeks ago, but his win was not without controversy.

The Belfast-based Angolan super middleweight upset Sean McGlinchey on the big Celtic Clash 9 card, stopping the fancied Derry slugger in the fifth round.

However, the lead-up to the stoppage has some, especially those from the Maiden City, crying foul.

The basis of complaints are a foul by Cesar in the fourth round and, while it was punished at the time, some argue that it had a fight-defining impact.

Referee Hugh Russell had called break but Cesar would line McGlinchey up before landing a big left hand that hurt the Creggan brawler.

Hurt, McGlinchey would take a knee and Cesar was given a stern talking to and deducted a point.

The scorecards, though, would not be needed, as Cesar continued his ascendancy and stopped a ragged McGlinchey in the following round.

McGlinchey and his team are not happy with the initial hurtful shot in Round Four and are calling for a rematch.

Indeed, the fighter himself asked the Glean ABC trained fighter ‘to the right thing’ and give him a rematch via yesterday.

The Commonwealth Games bronze medallist did start the better but arguably was already waning before the illegal shot in the fourth.

Regardless, the clash was an exciting one – and a repeat would be welcomed.

Photo Credit: Ricardo Guglielminotti – The Fighting Irish (@ThefIrish).



Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years