Two remaining defending champions will be in semi final action this weekend

Defending champions Dean Walsh and Michael O’Reilly – the only two defending male champions – will be in action in the semi-finals of the National 2015 Elite Championships this weekend.

Walsh, who claimed his first Elite title last year, and O’Reilly, who secured his first Elite belt on the same day, March 7, in 2014, are the defending light-welterweight and middleweight champions.

Walsh is in again Patrick Mongan – Ray Moylette and Ross Hickey clash in the corresponding semi-final – on Friday night.

O’Reilly, meantime, meets Conor Coyle on Saturday evening. The winner will face either Caoimhin Hynes or Stephen Broadhurst for the 75kg belt.

O’Reilly bridged a 72-year gap for the Portlaoise BC last year after becoming the first boxer from the club to win an Elite title since Joe Kerry went all the way in 1943 at the National Stadium, four years after the opening of the only purpose built boxing venue in the world.

Kerry had boxed out of the Portlaoise BC, which was founded in 1930, before joining the Phoenix BC in Dublin.

Pat Ryan, O’Reilly’s coach at the Porlaoise BC, said that the 2011 European Youth silver medallist who beat London 2012 Olympian Darren O’Neill on a split decision in the 2014 final, has prepared meticulously for the 2015 Elite Championships.

“The opposition is tough, Conor is an experienced boxer with a good pedigree and Michael is preparing for a very competitive semi-final, he said.

“He was at the Championships last weekend and he’s eager to started. He’s very excited about defending his belt and looking forward to getting in the ring.

“He’s in good form and has prepared meticulously for the Championships.”

2015 National Elite Championships National Stadium Dublin

Friday January 16th (7pm)

51kg Kristina O’Hara (Emerald) V Elaine Harrison (Ballina)

52kg TJ Waite (Cairn Lodge) V Myles Casey (St Francis)

52kg Adam Courtney (St Marys Dub) V Evan Metcalfe (Crumlin)

56kg Jamie Higgins (St Brigids Kildare) V Kurt Walker (Canal)

56kg Sean Higginson (St John Bosco) V Anthyony O’Rawe (Braid)

57kg Joanne Lambe (Carrickmackross) V Moira McElligot (Rathkeale)

57kg Dervla Duffy (St Brigids/Defence) V Carly McNaul (Holy Trinity)

60kg Sean McComb (Holy Trinity) V Gerard Matthews (St Pauls Antrim)

60kg George Bates (St Marys Dub) V Gary Cully (St Davids Naas)

64kg Dean Walsh (St Ibars) V Patrick Mongan (Olympic)

64kg Ray Moylette (St Annes) V Ross Hickey (Grangecon/Defence F)

69kg John Joe Joyce (St Michaels Athy) V Wayne Kelly (Mullingar Elite)

69kg Bernard Roe (Dublin Docklands) V Adam Nolan (Bray)

Saturday January 17th (7pm)

64kg Sarah Close (Holy Family GG) V Kayleigh Murrihy (Kilfenora)

64kg Grainne Walsh (Sparticus) V Kelly Harrington (St Margarets)

69kg Christina Desmond (Macroom) V Tina Donelly (Baldoyle)

69kg Jillian Duffy (St Fergals Bray) V Clare Grace (Callan)

75kg Michael O’Reilly (Portlaoise) V Conor Coyle (St Joseps Derry)

75kg Caoimhin Hynes (Holy Trinity) V Stephen Broadhurst (Dealgan)

81kg Roy Sheahan (St Michaels Athy) V Chris Blaney (Navan)

81kg Padraig McCrory (Holy Trinty) V Matthew Tinker (St Francis)

91kg Darren O’Neill (Paulstown) V John Joe McDonagh (Crumlin)

91kg Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity) V Kenneth Okungbowa (Ahtlone)

91+kg Dean Gardiner (Clonmel) V Niall Kennedy (Gorey)

91+kg Jason Barron (Holy Trinity) V Constantin Popovicu (Johnstown)

January 9th Q/Finals

57kg Moira McElligot (Rathkeale) beat Cheyanne O’Neill (Athlone) 2-0

56kg Kurt Walker (Canal) beat Gary McKenna (Old School) 3-0

56kg Sean Higginson (St John Bosco) beat Jason Kirwan (Ballagh) 3-0

64kg Patrick Mongan (Olympic) beat Benaldo Marime (Holy Trinity) 2-1

64kg Ray Moylette (St Annes) beat Jason Conroy (Crumlin) 3-0

64kg Ross Hickey (Grancecon/ Def/Force) beat Niall Murray (Gorey) 3-0

69kg John Joe Joyce (St Michaels Athy) beat Fergal Redmond (Arklow) 3-0

69kg Wayne Kelly (Mullingar) beat Lee Sherlock (Corpus Christi) 3-0

69kg Bernard Roe (Dublin Docklands) beat Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) 2-1

69kg Adam Nolan (Bray) beat Craig McCarthy (St Pauls Waterford) TKO1

75kg Conor Coyle (St Josephs Derry) beat Emmet Brennan (Corinthians) 2-1

75kg Caoimhin Hynes (Holy Trinity) beat Glory Lmuala (Maynooth) 3-0

81kg Chris Blaney (Navan) beat Anthony Browne (St Michaels) 2-1

91kg John Joe McDonagh (Crumlin) beat Patrick O’Shea (St Colmans) 3-0

91kg Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity) beat Andrew Hanley (Bray) TKOI3 (3-0)

91kg Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone) beat Bernard O’Reilly (Portlaoise) 3-0


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years