AmateurHeadline NewsLatestNews

Saturday’s National Youth Championship Results

Day two of boxing in the 2022 National Youth Championships took place at the National Stadium, Dublin on Saturday. 20 bouts were completed:


1. 63.5kg John P McDonagh (St Pauls W) 4-1 Ronan Love (The Loup)

2. 63.5kg Conor McCrory (Townland) W/O

3. 63.5kg James O’Loughlin (Olympic C) 4-1 Brogan McComiskey (Gilford)

4. 63.5kg Jakub Pielisz (Midleton) 2-3 Cody O’Reilly (Portlaoise

5. 63.5kg Saba Tkevuchava (Enniskerry) 3-2 Malo Davis (Monkstown D)

6. 63.5kg Luke Hall (Olympic L) 4-1 Drew Fitzpatrick (Gleann)

7. 63.5kg Josh Tumama (Docklands) W/O

8. 63.5kg Patrick McTigue (Knockmore/Fox) 0-5 Josh McDonagh (Sean McDermott)

9. 67kg David Blaney (Navan) 5-0 Richard Phiri (Celtic Eagles)

10. 67kg Gianni Richmond (Cairn Lodge) 3-2 Bernie Lawrence (Holy Family L)

11. 67kg Christopher Joyce (Cabra) 2-3 Cole Byrne (Rathnew)

12. 67kg Tiernan Conwell (Raphoe) W/O

13. 67kg Jake Daly (Castlebar) 0-5 James Donovan (O.L.O.L.)

14. 67kg Wayne Joyce (Ballyboughal) 3-2 Tom Cash (Portlaoise)

15. 67kg Michael McCarthy (Urlingford) 1-4 Cian Cramer (Cabra)

16. 67kg Charles McDonagh (Gleann) 5-0 Billy Moran (St Pauls W)

Semi Finals:

17. 52kg Connie Gibbons (St Bronaghs) 0-5 Robyn Murran (St Brigids Kildare)

18. 57kg Rebecca Kavanagh (Mulhuddart) W/O

19. 63kg Jennifer Sheehy (Spartan M) 0-5 Winnie McDonagh (Neilstown)

20. 66kg Emma Harding (Nutgrove) W/O

Boxing in this competition resumes on Friday, August 12th, at 7pm:

57kg  Sean Tyndall (Docklands) v Blaine Fitzgerald (Corinthians)

57kg  Roy Colgan (Avona) v Raymond Joyce (Clonmel)

57kg  Ben Foy (Gilford) W/O

57kg  Donagh Keary (Rathfirland) v Casey Walsh (Gleann)

63.5kg John P McDonagh (St Pauls W) v Conor McCrory (Townland)

63.5kg James O’Loughlin (Olympic C) v Cody O’Reilly (Portlaoise)

63.5kg Saba Tkevuchava (Enniskerry) v Luke Hall (Olympic L)

63.5kg Josh Tumama (Docklands) v Josh McDonagh (Sean McDermott)

67kg  David Blaney (Navan) v  Gianni Richmond (Cairn Lodge)

67kg  Cole Byrne (Rathnew)  v Tiernan Conwell (Raphoe)

67kg  James Donovan (O.L.O.L.)v Wayne Joyce (Ballyboughal)

67kg  Cian Cramer (Cabra) v Charles McDonagh (Gleann)

75kg  Sean Brennan (Docklands) v Sean Murray (Navan)

75kg  Josh Olaniyan (Jobstown) v Daniel Ramsey (Emerald A)

75kg  Luke Duncan (Ederney) v James McGuinness (St Monicas)

80kg  Feidhlim Behan (St Michaels Athy) v William Browne (Celtic Eagle)

Jonny Stapleton contributor for 15 years and editor for the past decade. Have been covering boxing for over 16 years and writing about sports for a living for over 20 years. Former Assistant Sports editor for the Gazette News Paper Group and former Tallaght Voice Sports Editor. Have had work published in publications around the world when working as a freelance journalist. Also co-founder of Junior Sports Media and Leinster Rugby PRO of the Year winner. email: